Reviews

What people are saying about Sturdy's Castle Country Inn




Fab Hotel - Rating 5/5

This is the third time staying at this Hotel and is a great place to stay either for work or a visit to Oxford City, rooms are very comfy and Food is really good and Staff are Excellent

Response

Good Afternoon,Thank you for your review, Thank you for choosing us for the third time. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.We hope to welcome you back in the near future.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:mike l | Mon 5th Nov 2018 | 1 month ago


stay - Rating 5/5

Accommodation clean tidy and very comfortable.Staff very friendly and helpful.Would recommend tom friends and familyThank you for meeting my dietary needs.

Response

Good Afternoon,Thank you for your review, We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your comments.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:Jackie C | Sun 4th Nov 2018 | 1 month ago


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Picked at short notice off the internet and we were extremely pleased with both the accommodation and the food. We have already flagged it up as a meeting place for our friends from Bristol

Response

Good Afternoon,Thank you for your review, We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your comments.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:Mr Ian T | Mon 29th Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


Fab Hotel - Rating 5/5

This is the third time staying at this Hotel and is a great place to stay either for work or a visit to Oxford City, rooms are very comfy and Food is really good and Staff are Excellent

Reviewer:mike l | Mon 29th Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


Outstanding customer service. - Rating 5/5

Blown away by the genuine friendliness despite our unusual requirements. Chana is an absolute diamond . The hotel is so lucky to have her and her colleague working for them. Bar, food and accommodation absolutely faultless. Thank you from Lynn, Joan and little Nina x

Response

Good Afternoon Lynn,Thank you for your review, We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your comments to the whole team. I hope you all had a safe trip home, we hope to welcome you back in the future.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:Lynn R | Thu 25th Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


3rd VISIT TO STURDY\'S - Rating 5/5

Very satisfactory stay for one night.Staff very helpful.Like being at home but without the family!

Response

Good Evening,Thank you for your review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your comments.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:Gary L | Wed 24th Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


Excellent Place to Stay - Rating 5/5

We stopped here on a round trip bike tour Bristol to Oxford. This place was amazing.I have never met such friendly and accomodating staff. We had such a warm welcome !Food Food Food what a great selection and the quality was brilliant. Beers & wine was good also ;-)Accomodation was really nice and spotless. Nice to have Tea / coffee & Water as this is not always the case with some hotels.Again Thanks so much to the amazing staff :-)Kind RegardsWestley

Reviewer:westley f | Mon 22nd Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


Excellent Place to Stay - Rating 5/5

We stopped here on a round trip bike tour Bristol to Oxford. This place was amazing.I have never met such friendly and accomodating staff. We had such a warm welcome !Food Food Food what a great selection and the quality was brilliant. Beers & wine was good also ;-)Accomodation was really nice and spotless. Nice to have Tea / coffee & Water as this is not always the case with some hotels.Again Thanks so much to the amazing staff :-)Kind RegardsWestley

Reviewer:westley f | Mon 22nd Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


Friendly- Rating 5/5

Overnight stay for meeting with family. Double room very spacious with good hot shower. Rooms in separate block do no noise from pub. Very friendly staff from the start. Good food and good value when bought with Dinner, B& B package.

Reviewer:Leanne T | Mon 15th Oct 2018 | 2 months ago


Friendly welcome - Rating 5/5

Always a great place to return to. Was looking forward to Steak and Stilton Salad and it didnt disappoint. Doombar on tap. What mire could you ask for

Reviewer:Amanda L | Fri 12th Oct 2018 | 2 months ago


Good choice - Rating 4/5

Very friendly and attentive staff. Lovely room with everything you need nothing was too much trouble

Response

Good afternoon,Thank you for your review, We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your comments.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:rachael t | Mon 8th Oct 2018 | 2 months ago


Great place - Rating 5/5

Very good value for money, friendly staff, nice environment, good food.

Reviewer:Helen B | Thu 4th Oct 2018 | 2 months ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

WE really enjoyed our two nights at Sturdy's Castle. The staff were lovely and friendly and the rooms were clean, spacious and well presented.We opted for Bed, Breakfast and Evening Meal and found that excellent value. Breakfast was particularly good.I would not hesitate in coming back.

Response

Good Afternoon,Thank you for you review, We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.I will pass on your comments.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:BARRY P | Wed 3rd Oct 2018 | 2 months ago


excellent accommodation- Rating 5/5

It is a beautiful coaching inn full of character. Only about 10 mins from Blenheim Palace which is where we were visiting. Lovely room, excellent dinner and breakfast . Well worth a visit even if just for a meal but would advise booking as they get very busy.

Response

Good Afternoon,Thank you for you review, We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.I will pass on your comments.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:julie n | Tue 2nd Oct 2018 | 2 months ago


very comfortable - Rating 5/5

The character of this pub/hotel is very pretty , all the furniture and fixtures are good quality and our room was very clean . We stayed in a room at the rear of the main building , easy to check in , easy to access and a great loacation for Blenheim Palace / Bicester and Oxford. We wished we could have stayed longer to have had a meal in the pub as it was very inviting and busy , which is always a good sign . Check in at reception was easy and very friendly .

Reviewer:lisa b | Mon 1st Oct 2018 | 2 months ago


Excellent value for money- Rating 5/5

We had a two night stay at Sturdys and were impressed with its value for money. We had a lovely spacious room and every member if staff we encountered were very polite, friendly and helpful.Would definitely recommend

Reviewer:Mr Daniel R | Tue 25th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Excellent value for money- Rating 5/5

We had a two night stay at Sturdys and were impressed with its value for money. We had a lovely spacious room and every member if staff we encountered were very polite, friendly and helpful.Would definitely recommend

Reviewer:Mr Daniel R | Tue 25th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Visit to Oxfordshire - Rating 5/5

Good food . pleasant room .great staff

Reviewer:william j | Thu 20th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Always Lovely - Rating 5/5

This is our second visit such caring happy staff lovely rooms and clean. Food in hotel is lovey and so is the breakfast

Reviewer:jackie j | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 3 months ago


OUTSTANDING- Rating 5/5

From start to finish it was brilliant.The staff were very friendly and always there to help.The food was out of this world and cooked to perfection.The room was spacious and very comfortable.Both of us had a very good night sleep.The room comes with Sky sports which I haven’t seen in many hotels.My partner and I will be visiting again, in the very near future.Highly recommend to all.

Response

Hi Ben,Thanks for your comments on your stay, it was our pleasure to look after you both, I am glad you liked our Dinner-Bed & Breakfast deal , i will pass your comments onto the team.Thanks Ben .RegardsJon

Reviewer:Ben T | Sun 9th Sep 2018 | 3 months ago


great value - Rating 5/5

Booked direct with Sturdy’s.. opted for their bed breakfast and evening meal deal.. lovely evening meal and first class breakfast... all staff were friendly and efficient. Room was very good size and spotlessly clean. Easy travelling distance to either Oxford or Woodstock. Certainly recommend this country Inn

Response

Hi Dorothy ,Thanks for taking the time to tell us about your visit.I will pass your comments onto the team, once again thank you .

Reviewer:Mrs Dorothy W | Fri 7th Sep 2018 | 3 months ago


Great value for money - Rating 5/5

Friendly staff and great food.

Reviewer:Richard P | Thu 6th Sep 2018 | 3 months ago


Comfortable stay - Rating 4/5

Very nice room. comfortable surroundings, nice bar and restaurant, and very friendly team of staff. Many thanks!

Reviewer:paul N | Wed 5th Sep 2018 | 3 months ago


Stay in August 2018 - Rating 4/5

Enjoyed our stay in pleasant surroundings.Staff all very helpful and pleasant.Good value for booking direct with the hotel.

Response

Good Afternoon,Thank you for your review, I will pass on your comments.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:T. H | Mon 3rd Sep 2018 | 3 months ago


Expectations were high...now delivered - Rating 5/5

We booked the Sturdy's Castle following a friend's referral and many excellent tripadvisor reports.The double room was airy, well appointed, spotlessly clean and 2 mins walk from the main restaurant.Both dinner and breakfast menu's were extensive, offering superbly cooked dishes at competitive prices.Would have no hesitation in referring this hotel to others, for business and pleasure, as only 5 mins from London Oxford Airport, Blenheim Palace and the Cotswolds.Booking already made for September 2019!

Response

Good Afternoon,Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us I will pass on your comments to the whole team.We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:Edward B | Mon 3rd Sep 2018 | 3 months ago


Weekend away- Rating 5/5

What a beautiful hotel the bedroom is very nice and comfortable the power shower is really nice and hot the food is very tasty staff are friendly and helpful especially Tanya she can’t do enough for guests and is so lovely would definitely recommend staying at the hotel and would stay again

Reviewer:Amanda B | Mon 3rd Sep 2018 | 3 months ago


Prefect - Rating 5/5

Great stay , great staff

Response

Good Afternoon,Thank you for this review, I will pass on your comments to the whole team.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:Mark Y | Tue 28th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Great Weekend- Rating 5/5

The staff were really friendly and helpful. The roomswere spacious and immaculate. Food was excellent and reasonably priced. Will definitely stay there again.

Response

Good Afternoon,Thank you for taking the time to leave this review, We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.I will pass on your comments.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:Graham P | Tue 28th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Warm & Friendly Welcome - Rating 5/5

Very warm and friendly welcome, attentive staff. lovely room, excellent food.

Response

Good Afternoon,Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:Lynette R | Mon 27th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Another great stay - Rating 5/5

Second time here still as good as the first trip.Last time in winter and summer just as good. Great room, great food, great staff a fantastic find

Response

Hi Wendy,The team here at Sturdys are pleased you had another good visit,Thank you for taking the time to let us know

Reviewer:Wendy C | Mon 20th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Another nice stay - Rating 5/5

We had another nice over night stay, Room was nice and clean with every thing we needed. Nice evening meal and good breakfast.The staff work extremely hard and all seem to multi task. Chana is worth her weight in gold to this place and a great front of house and everything else she doseThis is really close to Blenheim palace and so much more. Would defiantly recommend.We have already booked for December and will return no doubt next year

Reviewer:Martin A | Mon 20th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Our stay at the Sturdy Castle - Rating 5/5

We booked the one evening as we were visiting Oxford and then moving on for the weekend. The accommodation was clean and modern and rooms very tastefully done. All the staff seemed very pleasantwith a friendly manner. We ate an evening meal and breakfast and enjoyed both meals. If we are in the area for another visit we would definitely stay here again. Thank you.

Reviewer:Geoff B | Mon 20th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Great value - Rating 5/5

Stayed two nights at Sturdys Castle.Rooms are spacious and well equipped and the food is excellent.Would have no hesitation in recommending this Country Inn.

Response

Good Afternoon,Thank you for this review, We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your comments.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:John Stuart S | Sat 18th Aug 2018 | 4 months ago


A great place to stay after a hard days work - Rating 5/5

The room was very clean, the noise levels in the room was very good aswell considering the main road and car park. It was very nice to have my drink at the bar served in a frosted glass,especially with the weather we were having.

Response

Good Afternoon,Thank you for this review, We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your comments.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:James O | Mon 13th Aug 2018 | 4 months ago


Would recommend - Rating 5/5

Have stayed before when visiting family in the area, and will stay again. Very comfortable room, friendly and cheerful staff, good food. What more could you ask for?

Response

Good Afternoon,Thank you for your review, We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:Martin W | Mon 13th Aug 2018 | 4 months ago


- Rating 50/5

Excellent, exceeded expectations

Response

Good Afternoon,Thank you for this review, We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:Keith D | Sun 12th Aug 2018 | 4 months ago


Cracking hotel! - Rating 5/5

Sturdy Castle is a perfect place to stay, the accommodation is spacious, clean, well maintained and none of those little extras forgotten. We enjoyed a great meal in the restaurant, which was very reasonable. The breakfast offered lots of choice and was delicious. Lastly the staff were very friendly and welcoming. Definitely recommended!

Reviewer:Leeanda J | Sun 5th Aug 2018 | 4 months ago


Weekend stay - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed our stay. Lovely, helpful staff and good food.

Reviewer:Sally R | Sun 5th Aug 2018 | 4 months ago


Sturdy Castle - Rating 5/5

nice we all loved it large room plus car parking

Reviewer:John H | Sat 4th Aug 2018 | 4 months ago


perfect - Rating 5/5

excellent service, great accommodation & fantastic food!

Reviewer:Dave A | Wed 1st Aug 2018 | 4 months ago


Homely, lovely place to stay- Rating 5/5

Had a great couple of nights, room had everything you could wish for. Staff very helpful, very nice food, breakfast was perfect....Well situated for Blenheim Palace & ideal for Park & Ride into Oxford....

Reviewer:Janette H | Wed 25th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Well Worth booking - Rating 5/5

A very clean and comfortable Inn.The staff were very polite and nothing was to much trouble.The rooms were well situated and clean.There was a very selection of meals on the menu.

Reviewer:Brian K | Mon 23rd Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Excellent staff and location - Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel, rooms very clean.Lovely staff, the team couldnt do enough for you, would gladly stay there again

Reviewer:linda c | Mon 23rd Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Good stop for Blenheim Palace - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely stay at Sturdy's Castle.Staff were great. Very hardworking, and nothing too much trouble.Great choice for breakfast . Had evening meal too, and it was excellent.

Reviewer:Patrick P | Sun 22nd Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Sturdy\'s Castle- Rating 5/5

A very nice place to stay. The staff were very attentive and hard working (particularly Charna).I have no hesitation in recommending Sturdy's Castle

Reviewer:John H | Fri 20th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Weekend stay - Rating 4/5

Excellent staff, lovely stay.

Reviewer:Susan M | Sun 15th Jul 2018 | 5 months ago


Welcome with a smile - Rating 5/5

We chose this hotel for its location to Oxford and the Cotswolds and found it to be an excelent choice

Reviewer:John Wilkinson W | Tue 10th Jul 2018 | 5 months ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

This will be the third time that we have stayed at Sturdy's Castle and are looking forward to our next visit. Everything thing about our stay was very pleasant. The room, the breakfast and parking facilities were all great.We had a meal in the restaurant in the evening and it was excellent.Finally, what lovely staff, all so friendly. Thank you.

Reviewer:CAROL S | Mon 9th Jul 2018 | 5 months ago


sturdys castle - Rating 5/5

overwhelmed by the efficency and helpfulness of your staff,never stayed at a place that was so well run.Keep up the good work.

Reviewer:Phillip B | Mon 2nd Jul 2018 | 5 months ago


Sturdy’s Country Inn - Rating 4/5

Food is great and the staff are helpful and friendly

Reviewer:Mr Clive P | Thu 21st Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


M&m - Rating 5/5

Lovely clean friendly staff

Reviewer:menna J | Wed 13th Jun 2018 | 6 months ago


Fantastic place to stay - Rating 5/5

Thank you to all the team at Sturdy's Castle for a very enjoyable stay. I have to say that the steak meal I had was the best I have had in many years.All the staff are very plesent and helpful, the room was very spacious, clean and had the bonus of a large tv with sky.Perfect stay, We would highly recommend this hotel.

Response

Good Afternoon,Thank you for your review, we are please you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed your comments on to all the staff.We hope to welcome you back in the near future.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:mrs Rae V | Sun 10th Jun 2018 | 6 months ago


Great little place to stay - Rating 4/5

Nice, quiet location with plenty of parking. The staff are friendly and the rooms comfortable. Would stay there again.

Reviewer:Allan G | Mon 4th Jun 2018 | 6 months ago


👌🏼 - Rating 5/5

Lovely staff food very nice room spotless will Defo stay again thsnkyou

Reviewer:mark t | Sun 3rd Jun 2018 | 6 months ago


Foodie Exhibition - Rating 5/5

Place clean and lots of space staff fantastic and good parking and good food any time better than a 5star hotel.

Reviewer:Nathan S | Tue 29th May 2018 | 6 months ago


Enjoyable stopover - Rating 5/5

Booked at very short notice. Very impressed with lovely quiet accomodation.Lovely staff. Meal tasty. Will definitely stop again when visitingarea again. Thank you

Reviewer:Angela M | Mon 28th May 2018 | 6 months ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay. We had a dinner, bed and breakfast deal. The food standard was very high. The hotel was spotless and the courtesy and helpfulness of the staff was faultless.

Reviewer:Colin T | Sun 27th May 2018 | 6 months ago


All round good job - Rating 5/5

Staff excellent, local beer good, very comfortable, pity it’s not nearer the canal!!

Reviewer:Peter H | Sun 20th May 2018 | 7 months ago


Very comfortable - Rating 5/5

Apart from the extremely friendly and helpful staff, the rooms were clean and comfortable. Generous onsite parking was a big plus and the location, though a bit far from the city centre, was compensated for by an excellent restaurant and very reasonable rates. I would not hesitate to recommend Sturdy’s Castle to other travellers.

Reviewer:Susan H | Thu 17th May 2018 | 7 months ago


Sturdy’s Castle Country Inn - Rating 5/5

We stayed here for one night and what a great experience. None of us could fault the Inn in any way. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the service, by such friendly and helpful staff, was excellent, and the meals (dinner and breakfast) were outstanding. Will recommend to anyone and will definitely return.

Reviewer:Penny B | Mon 30th Apr 2018 | 7 months ago


Sturdy\'s castle - Rating 5/5

Great location, excellent food, friendly and helpful staff. Room was clean and warm. Would recommend to others.

Reviewer:Sue J | Sun 29th Apr 2018 | 7 months ago


Practical, cleanand tidy. - Rating 5/5

Very clean and tidy. Attentive staff and very good food well cooked. Very comfortable bed and fantastic power shower, I wish we had one! Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Roy G | Tue 24th Apr 2018 | 7 months ago


Excellant stay - Rating 5/5

We only stayed for 1 night but had a lovely time- Rooms are lovely and clean. Staff were amazing very friendly and food and breakfast also very good. Will definitely be returning but for a longer weekend .Thank you all

Reviewer:Angela C | Mon 23rd Apr 2018 | 7 months ago


A Pleasant Stay - Rating 5/5

Clean , comfortable, quiet rooms. Good food . friendly staff. Reasonable price. Excellent parking.

Reviewer:Anthony C | Sat 21st Apr 2018 | 7 months ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Fantastic food staff and rioms

Reviewer:Jarrod B | Sun 8th Apr 2018 | 8 months ago


Short break - Rating 5/5

It was great to stay at Sturdy’s for a short break, staff are very friendly and helpful, accommodation is roomy and warm, it’s convenient for Blenheim Palace and Oxford

Response

Good afternoon,Thank you for your review, We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in in the near Future.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:Chris E | Tue 13th Mar 2018 | 9 months ago


Overnight business stop off - Rating 5/5

Clean excellent food and great value

Reviewer:Steve D | Thu 8th Feb 2018 | 10 months ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent staff food and rooms

Reviewer:Sean M | Mon 11th Dec 2017 | 1 year ago


Amazing place to stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed he just for the night, on arrival we were greeted and shown to our room, staff very pleasant and helpful, hadn't booked a table but they got us a space, and booked us in for breakfast. Food was very good and plentiful. staff couldn't do enough for us. Snow fell over night and very deep, after breakfast, staff were willing to help dig us out if need be, very concerned for our wellbeing, and gave advice on what roads to take home, would certainly reccomend the Sturdys castle as a lovely place to stay.

Reviewer:Karen G | Mon 11th Dec 2017 | 1 year ago


Our Visit To Sturdy Castle County Inn - Rating 5/5

This was our 3rd visit in 12 months and it was a very enjoyable and pleasant weekend break and the room was nice and spacey with friendly staff and situated in a peaceful village and I would definitely recommend it

Reviewer:David M | Mon 11th Dec 2017 | 1 year ago


Wk end away - Rating 4/5

Lovely stay, clean and warm on a cold and damp weekend.Good food and Beer at a reasonable pricewould stay again.

Reviewer:Michael M | Mon 4th Dec 2017 | 1 year ago


Social stay over - Rating 4/5

Lovely staff. Very clean and comfortable. Will def be goibg back

Reviewer:Kevin B | Sun 3rd Dec 2017 | 1 year ago


Super friendly hotel - Rating 5/5

We stayed for a night whilst travelling and found Sturdy's to be very comfortable. What made it was the welcome, the service when dining and at breakfastI had not expected the excellent quality food and we were so impressedWe then had a night at a 5 star hotel in the Cotswolds and were greeted far less wellIf you like friendly service, Sturdy's is wonderful

Reviewer:mark l | Sun 3rd Dec 2017 | 1 year ago


Blenheim crafts - Rating 5/5

Great deal, clean premises...good food....very attentive staff

Response

Good afternoon,Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay, I will pass your comments onto the whole team. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:Catherine King -Barbara P | Thu 23rd Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


for one night only. - Rating 5/5

Excellent value, lovely large room, very clean and tidy.The staff as always happy smiling & helpful.

Response

Good Afternoon,Thank you for this review, we are pleased you had a pleasant stay, I will pass your comments onto the whole team.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:ChrisL | Tue 21st Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Happy customer - Rating 5/5

Comfortable room, excellent breakfast, friendly helpful staff. would happily stay again.

Response

Good Afternoon,Thank you for this review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay, we hope to welcome you back in the near future.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:Claire A | Tue 21st Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


An enjoyable stay.- Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay.The hotel was warm and comfortable.The staff were very friendly and efficient and the food was delicious with very generous helpings.We would return again.Thank you.

Response

Good Afternoon,Thank you for this review, we are pleased you had a pleasant stay with us I will pass your comments onto the whole team.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:Anne F | Mon 20th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely rooms - Rating 5/5

Lovely comfyroom tucked away. Immaculate and warm. Staff really nice too.

Response

Good Afternoon,Thank you for this review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay, I will pass your comments onto the whole team.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:Lynn z | Sat 18th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Warm and welcoming. - Rating 5/5

Our first stay at Sturdy's Castle and we were very impressed by our warm welcome, the staff were delightful, nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were clean, comfortable and well equipped. We ate in the hotel on the first evening of our arrival from sheer convenience without any high expectations but were pleasantly surprised, especially the fussy vegetarian!I don't think this will be our last visit to Sturdy's, it is very convenient for Oxford park and ride and all the prettiest villages. We've had a lovely few days, thank you.

Response

Good Evening,Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, I will pass your comments on to the whole team. We hope to welcome you both back in the near future.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:Jocelyn N | Wed 15th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Highly Impressed - Rating 5/5

The room was excellent. Great comfort. I would highly recommend this location for anyone considering staying in this vicinity.Great RoomsGreat ServiceGreat Value

Response

Good Evening,Thank you for this review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us I will pass your comments onto the whole team and hope to welcome you back in the near future.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:Jamie H | Wed 15th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Great food, comfortable rooms with sky TV. Every member of staff friendly and helpful. Really enjoyed our stay.

Response

Good Evening,Thank you for this review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:Carl S | Sun 12th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent Room and Restaurant - Rating 5/5

My sister and I were very pleasantly surprised by our room.It was lovely.The only problem was the steepness of the outside stairs. The restaurant was very good.In fact, we ate supper there besides our morning breakfast and were happy with both. If we hadn't had reservations at another place we probably would have spent our entire week there.It was very well situated for touring the Cotswold.

Response

Good Morning,Thank you for this review, we are pleased you and your sister enjoyed your stay, we hope to welcome you back in the near future, If you do decide to come back please just call and i will allocate you a room on the ground floor.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:Mary Lou B | Mon 6th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Clean Comfortable and Friendly - Rating 4/5

Only stayed one night but very pleased and will stay again.Sharma and all of the staff were extremely helpful,pleasant and very friendly.Food is good and the log fire in the bar very welcoming.The room was a bit cold when we checked in but as the heating is night storage heaters it warmed up later.Was lovely and cosy overnight.If I have one little niggle it’s that the curtains in the rooms let too muchlight in from outside ( the residential area is very well light up) and need to be blackout.This is because I need a totally dark room to sleep well.

Response

Good Morning,Thank you for this review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, I will pass your comments onto the whole team. We hope to welcome you back in the near future if you are in the area again.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:Jean A | Mon 6th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent Find! - Rating 4/5

We stayed here on Saturday night following a visit to Blenheim Palace. Our superior room was in a lovely setting overlooking a courtyard and was well appointed with Sky TV and good quality furnishings. We ate in them restaurant on Saturday night which provided good service and good sized portions, my allergies were well supported by the friendly staff. We also ate breakfast there the following morning, plenty of choice and good quality. We will definitely stay here again when we are next in the area.

Response

Good Morning,Thank you for this review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, I will pass your comments onto the whole team and hope to welcome you back soon.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:Sandra R | Mon 30th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Exceptionally kind and thoughtful.- Rating 5/5

A good clean room and good food individually prepared and cooked and presented beautifully. My wife was on crutches and I had to work in the evening. The staff were all so incredibly kind and thoughtful to her whilst I was away. The staff here are exceptional. Can’t really find the words to say how much we appreciated this. Good value and a good breakfast too.

Response

Good Morning,Thank you for this review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, I will pass your comments onto the whole team, we all wish your wife a very speedy recovery and hope to welcome you back in the near future.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:Mr B | Mon 30th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent Find! - Rating 4/5

Just had a brilliant overnight stay here after a day at Blenheim Palace. We stayed in a superior room, very well appointed with Sky TV. Great personal service from all staff and lovely restaurant meal on Saturday night with large portions and breakfast choice and quality good. Would definitely stay here again.

Response

Good morning,Thank you for your review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:Sandra R | Sun 29th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Awesome Place to Stay - Rating 5/5

We were pleasantly surprised at the high standard of accommodation and the awesome service received. The restaurant and menu were of excellent standard. The menu was extensive. I would not hesitate in recommending this venue.

Response

Good morning,Thank you for this review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay, I will pass your comments onto the whole team.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:Preshen N | Sun 29th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Birthday weekend- Rating 5/5

A lovely place to stay - great food and accommodation- very friendly and helpful staff - wiujd highly recommend it to our friends and family and we will certainly be back

Response

Good Evening,Thank you for this review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:Jon G | Mon 23rd Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Just right - Rating 5/5

Excellent service from restaurant and hotel staff, very friendly and knowledgeable. Very good ambassadors for Sturdy's Castle.

Response

Good evening,Thank you for this review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your comments onto the whole team.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:J N | Mon 2nd Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


My visit 23 & 24 September - Rating 5/5

Thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay.Room,bed,excellent. Best TV I have experienced in a hotel. Loved the walk in shower, but would like an extra grab handle inside.(I am partialayly disabled). Will definitely stay again when in area.

Response

Good evening,Thank you for this review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, I will pass your comments on to the whole team and the maintenance department.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:allan b | Tue 26th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Just what the doctor ordered.- Rating 5/5

I was looking for somewhere to get away for the night to spend some time with with my girlfriendto just chill out.The staff was very nice . The room was great . The food was lovely( both dinner and breakfast). Had a lovely peacefulbreak . Thanks guys 😊

Response

Good evening,Thank you for this review it is very pleasing to us that you enjoyed your stay. I will pass your comments onto the whole team.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:Darren D | Mon 25th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

sturdys Castle is lovely. Friendly staff clean and comfortable rooms.Breakfast was very good and meal in the evening was perfect

Reviewer:jackie j | Mon 18th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Just lovely - Rating 5/5

sturdys Castle is lovely. Friendly staff clean and comfortable rooms.Breakfast was very good and meal in the evening was perfect

Reviewer:jackie j | Mon 18th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Overnight stay in superior double.- Rating 5/5

Tastefully decorated, clean and comfortable room. Accommodating staff who are only too pleased to help. Wonderful food. Would definitely stay again.

Response

Good evening,Thank you for this review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your comments onto the whole team.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:MRS S W | Mon 18th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Outstanding service- Rating 5/5

Stayed at Sturdys Castle whilst in Oxford...The hotel was very clean and tidy.The menu was quite varied.The thing that really stuck out for us was the truly outstanding service.. all the staff were extremely friendly!! Highly recommended

Reviewer:John W | Mon 18th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


two night stop - Rating 5/5

Good room clean with restaurent varied menu

Response

Good afternoon,Thank you for this review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, I will pass your comments on to the whole team. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:B | Mon 4th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely - Rating 4/5

Staff were fantastic, always very polite and attentive. Food was lovely.

Response

Good afternoon,Thank you for this review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay, I will pass your comments on to the whole team. we hope to welcome you back in the near future.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:Stuart B | Mon 4th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Great place to stay on the Oxfordshire Way - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Everyone was very friendly and accommodating even for tired, confused American walkers.The food was great.

Response

Good afternoon,Thank you for this review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your food and your stay with us. we hope to welcome you back in the near future if you are back in the area.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:Alan M | Mon 4th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


One of my favorites 30 years ago and even better this time - Rating 5/5

I cannot say enough about how good this place is. 30 years ago this was one of my favorite pubs when I was in the USAF at RAF Upper Heyford. This time traveling with my daughter, we spent a night and had dinner (and breakfast). WOW. Room had all the amenities (even had 42"LCD TV), was immaculate and the dinner was very good. I had a gluten free English breakfast and it was fabulous. Highly satisfied.

Response

Good afternoon,Thank you for this review, it is very pleasing to us that you enjoyed your stay. I will pass your comments on to the whole team. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:Mr. Steve H | Thu 24th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


John & Sue - Rating 4/5

Had a lovely stay on 20th August. Comfortable room and very friendly staff. They accommodated all our requests. Fabulous breakfasts! Would definitely stay again if we were in the area.

Response

Good Morning,Thank you for this review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your comments onto the whole team. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:Jon B | Tue 22nd Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Totallly brilliant - Rating 5/5

Sturdy's is the best hotel of it's kind in the world, lovely staff, great food, nice rooms, perfectly situated in the best part of England. What more could you want!

Response

Good afternoon,Thank you for this review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us. I will pass your comments onto the whole team. We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:Peter G | Mon 14th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Best Kept secret - Rating 5/5

@nd time I've stayed here and as usual staff, food and accommodation where excellent :Can not rate this Inn high enough :Booked already for next year before there are no rooms left:Credit to the Chef :The steaks they serve are as good as any top class restaurant but the rest of the menu is equally good .... and they even serve a decent pint of Guinness

Response

Good afternoon,Thank you for this review, we are please you enjoyed your stay with us, I will pass your comments onto the whole team. we will see you next year if not before.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:Stanley R | Wed 9th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


country file live - Rating 5/5

what a great stay,clean comfortable room and bed,clean public areas,excellent food,excellent service form all the staff.if my wife and I are invited to participate in country file live 2018 we shall defiantly be lodging at the sturdy castle country inn. here.

Response

Good afternoon,Thank you for this review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, I will pass your comments onto the whole team. We hope to welcome you back next year.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:Christopher L | Tue 8th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely treat - Rating 5/5

The room was a lovely size , bed comfy on the firm side which I like , The shower worked well .The staff were very helpful , polite and the dinner and breakfast were both tasty

Response

Good evening,Thank you for this review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, I will pass your comments on to the whole team. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:annette m | Sun 30th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed for 1 night along with another couple. The rooms were really comfortable and the breakfast was lovely. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Response

Good afternoon,Thank you for this review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay, we hope to welcome you back in the near future.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:Gillian R | Mon 24th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Great hotel - Rating 5/5

Nice staff. Lovely room. No complaints.

Response

Good afternoon,Thank you for this review, I will pass your comments on to the whole team, we hope to welcome you back in the near future.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:Julia K | Sat 15th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


What a find! - Rating 4/5

excellent location to explore Oxfordshire and the Cotswolds. Very nice staff, good breakfast, quiet and comfortable. Value for money!

Response

Good morning,Thank you for this review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your comments on to the whole team. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:Claudia van Harinxma thoe S | Tue 11th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Great place to stay when visiting Woodstock - Rating 5/5

We had a very nice stay in Sturdy's Castle, friendly staff ,lovely breakfast and nice room. Just one thing the hair dryer in the room had a 4 ft lead but was 8 ft from the mirror so couldn't use it.

Response

Good afternoon,Thank you for this review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your comments on to the whole team. I do send our apologies about the hair dryerwe are currently in the middle or re decorating the whole hotel and some of the mirrors have been moved from their original place so we can fit new TV\\\'s. We do have spare hair dryers at reception just in case. We hope to welcome you back in the near future if you are in the area.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:Barry T | Mon 10th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Very good again - Rating 5/5

Another very good stay, can't fault anything. Thanks to all the staff.

Response

Good morning,Thank you for your review, I will pass your comments onto the whole team. we look forward to welcoming you back soon.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew D | Wed 5th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Nice place - Rating 5/5

Very nice place to stay and great staff and food

Response

Good afternoon,Thank you for this review, I will pass your comments on the the whole team.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:Simon W | Sun 2nd Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Hospitality - Rating 5/5

I have stayed at Sturdy's castle a couple of times before, and that is why I have just book to stay again. The place is spotlessly clean, with nice little complementary bits and pieces, you know Tea Coffee, Biscuits Water and so on. We found the staff very friendly and helpful, the food was plentiful and well cooked. They had a very nice bar area well stocked with all drinks except for the beer. If you are a beer drinker the a choice of only two beers was a little disappointing, but that doesn't distract from what is a very nice place to stay. I would certainly recommend it to all my friends and colleagues as first class.

Response

Good afternoon,Thank you for taking the time to leave this review, we are very pleased you have enjoyed more than one stay with us. I will pass your comments on to the whole team, we hope to welcome you back in the near future.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:Malcom H | Fri 30th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent location for visiting Woodstock and Bicester - Rating 5/5

Stayed just one night when visiting Blenheim Palace Flower Show. Everything very good -room - location - breakfast. Very clean and comfortable spacious room.

Response

Good afternoon,Thank you for this review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:Jane M | Mon 26th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

We had a great stay at Sturdys, food was top notch all the way and the staff very friendly making it a thoroughly enjoyable experience. The room was clean and comfortable, just what we needed whilst working in the area

Response

Good afternoon,Thank you for leaving this review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, I will pass your comments on to the whole team.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:Grant Williams NR N | Mon 26th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Enjoyed our stay can not fault it the staff were brilliant the restaurant excellent our room really clean and very comfortable so in all a great five days stay

Response

Good evening,Thank you for this review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your comments on to the whole team. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.Kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:Mr Crick - S | Sun 25th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Great stay at Sturdy\'s Castle. - Rating 5/5

This was my 3rd stay here and they've secured my loyalty. I'd happily recommend this really well-run establishment to anyone. Warm welcome, fantastic staff, excellent food (dinner and breakfast) and very clean and comfortable room. Guests are well looked after here, and there's a good atmosphere about the place. 10 out of 10 for me!

Response

Good afternoon Paul,Thank you for this review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us, I will pass your comments onto the whole team. we hope to welcome you back in the near future.kind regards,Charna

Reviewer:Paul S | Thu 22nd Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


lovely - Rating 5/5

Very nice place, room was good, the bar area and service throughout was excellent. no complaints whatsoever. I Would use Sturdy's castle again no problem.

Reviewer:ANDREW W | Thu 1st Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Super staff! - Rating 5/5

What a gem! I was very, very impressed at the skill of the staff welcoming me and serving me for the two nights I stayed. Lovely (if occasionally creaky) accommodation, lovely situation, suffers a little from traffic noise but food and service tells me I'll be back! As a stay 9/10 without question!

Reviewer:Robert R | Tue 30th May 2017 | 1 year ago


A good hotel ,ideally located - Rating 4/5

This is an ideally situated hotel for visits into Oxford city centre ,driving to the Park and Ride, and for countryside walks along the canal path. The rooms were clean and a good size, there was a good choice at breakfast and the service was always friendly. We would be happy to stay there again.

Response

Good evening,Thank you for this review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to welcome you back in the near future.Regards,Charna

Reviewer:Sue H | Mon 22nd May 2017 | 1 year ago


Visiting from USA -Michigan - Rating 5/5

A great place to stay while touring in the area.Clean,cozy, friendly.The food is excellent.The staff is welcoming and accommodating.We have stayed here before and see it getting better and better.We will definitely come back as well as recommend it to our friends.Thank you to all for taking such good care of us!

Response

Good afternoon,Thank you for taking the time to leave this review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your comments on to the whole team. we hope to welcome you back in the near future.Regards,Charna

Reviewer:Mr Lloyd C | Sun 21st May 2017 | 1 year ago


Family gathering- Rating 4/5

We had a wonderful stay. Rooms extremely comfortable and the staff being attentive and very helpful.

Response

Good morning Frederic,Thank you for this review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. we hope to welcome you back in the near future.Regards,Charna

Reviewer:Frederic M | Mon 15th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Family meet up. - Rating 5/5

All 8 of us had a very enjoyable stay here, all the staff were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.The rooms were clean and comfortable and the quality and quantity of the food was excellent.A lovely place to stay and would definitely stay here again.

Response

Good Evening Janet,Thank you for this review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your comments on to the whole team,Regards,Charna

Reviewer:Janet Wynne| Mon 15th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Very pleasant - Rating 5/5

We were pleasantly surprised Sturdy's was a very large bright and very clean room with a comfortable bed. The food was very good and reasonably priced. The staff were all very friendly and helpfully, even when busy.

Response

Good morning Chris,Thank you for taking the time to leave this review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found your room comfortable. I will pass your comments on to the whole team.Regards,Charna

Reviewer:ChrisB | Mon 8th May 2017 | 1 year ago


First time at Sturdy\'s Castle Country Inn. - Rating 5/5

I was very impressed with Sturdy's Castle! Excellent room and delicious breakfast in the morning! Staff very friendly and professional, too. I look forward to staying here again in future.

Response

Good morning Paul,Thank you for leaving this review, it is very pleasing to us that you enjoyed your stay, I will pass your comments on to the whole team, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.Regards,Charna

Reviewer:Mr. Paul S | Sun 7th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent Service - Rating 5/5

We were in Oxford for business and stayed at Sturdy's Castle. The rooms are large and very comfortable. The food was of an excellent standard and priced very reasonably. The staff were polite and attentive. Will stay here again when in the area.

Response

Good afternoon,Thank you for leaving this review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to welcome you again if you are in the area.Regards,Charna

Reviewer:Mr. Nigel W | Fri 5th May 2017 | 1 year ago


April/May 17 - Rating 5/5

the room was perfect and food excellent all times of day.Staff were all very pleasant and helpful

Response

Good afternoon,Thank you for this review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, I will pass your comments on to the whole team. we hope to welcome you back in the near future.Regards,Charna

Reviewer:Martin M | Tue 2nd May 2017 | 1 year ago


Weekend break - Rating 4/5

Just stopped for two nights our second stay her. Met friends who we only see a couple of times a years. We would have liked bar to have stopped open later then 10.40 pm on the saturday when we returned. Otherwise no complaints enjoyed meal on the friday.

Reviewer:Carol D | Sun 30th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Great place to stay. - Rating 5/5

Food staff are great.Perfect place to stay when sightseeing around oxfordshire.Highly recommend Sturdy Castle to all.I wil be telling all and sundry in australia.

Response

Good afternoon,Thank you for leaving this review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, I will pass your comments onto the whole team and hope to welcome you back if you are in the area.Regards,Charna

Reviewer:Ewan M | Sun 30th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


A great stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay. Friendly & hospitable team especially Stacey, very helpful. Would definitely return

Reviewer:Ms. Tammy M | Fri 28th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Fantastic place to stay........ - Rating 5/5

We have just stayed here for the second time. We cannot fault the service. The rooms are beautifully decorated, so well equipped and spotless. The food is excellent. Most of all the staff are all extremely helpful and friendly. This is a very efficiently run hotel and we will definately be visiting a third time and more........Many thanks.....

Reviewer:Cheryl R | Fri 21st Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Thank You - Rating 4/5

Nice location and rooms, good facilities, accommodating and friendly staff makes it a great place to stay.

Response

Good Evening Jonathan,Thank you for this review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future.Regards,Charna

Reviewer:Jonathan l | Fri 21st Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Business Stay @ Sturdy\'s Castle - Rating 4/5

I use Sturdy's Castle as my hotel of choice for overnight business accommodation in the north Oxfordshire area.Clean and tidy and well run, the owners are genuinely trying maintain a very credible service to guests and diners alike supported most ably bywelcoming, happy to serve staff.I'm a frequent stayer at Sturdy's Castle. :-)

Reviewer:Jonathan M | Thu 20th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


My stay at Sturdy\'s Castle Country Inn - Rating 5/5

What a terrific place to stay. The rooms were very clean & comfortable, the food excellent but above all, it was the staff who were so friendly & professional.

Response

Good Morning Jeremy,Thank you for leaving this review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us. I will pass your comments onto the whole team, we hope to welcome you back in the near future.Regards,Charna

Reviewer:Mr. Jeremy G | Mon 17th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


My stay at Sturdy\'s Castle Country Inn - Rating 5/5

What a terrific place to stay. The rooms were very clean & comfortable, the food excellent but above all, it was the staff who were so friendly & professional.

Reviewer:Mr. Jeremy G | Mon 17th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


excellent stay. - Rating 5/5

Large, clean and comfortable room, plus good food.Staff were helpful and friendly.

Reviewer:Mr. Peter B | Mon 17th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed two nights daughter lives in Bicester. What you see is what you get fab room and facilities.Friendly welcoming staffwould definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a great place to stay, we will be back

Response

Good Morning Wendy,Thank you for leaving this review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay, I will pass your comments onto the whole team. We hope to welcome you back in the near future if you are in the area.Regards,Charna

Reviewer:wendy w | Sun 16th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Brilliant stay - Rating 5/5

Staying over for wedding celebration near to, rooms very nice clean and comfortable, food breakfast great lots of choice and restaurant just the same lots of choice. Stafff very nice and polite and helpful what more do you need to make a great weekend even bettter.Thank you all at Sturdys Castle

Reviewer:Bernard C | Mon 10th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


A delightful surprise! - Rating 5/5

It took us a while to find our destination but when we finally arrived we were pleasantly surprised!We were directed to a most comfortable and well appointed room, in a quiet courtyard, away from traffic noise. Having slept well we enjoyed a very generous breakfast in a sunny dining room, served by efficient and friendly staff.We certainly recommend Sturdy's Castle as a convenient stop along the way or a place to stay if you want to spend time in Oxford as a tourist.

Reviewer:Gillie C | Mon 10th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Stay 27 March 17 - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the hotel for my wife's birthday and to meet up with family members for an evening meal. The staff where very attentive and service was excellent. The food in the restaurant was perfect and everyone enjoyed their meal. The room was lovely.A big thank you to everyone who made my wife's day very special and we both look forward to staying again in the future. We both would definitely recommend your hotel to anyone looking into staying with you. Many thanks once again Bill Laird.

Response

Good afternoon,Thank you for leaving this review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us. we hope to welcome you back in the near future.Regards,Charna

Reviewer:L | Wed 29th Mar 2017 | 1 year ago


excellent weekend - Rating 5/5

We had an enjoyable stay the food and accommodation was excellent and the gluten free options were brilliant.

Reviewer:Adele J | Mon 20th Mar 2017 | 1 year ago


Great overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed for a night whilst meeting up with friends & family. Room was spotless, comfortable & an ideal base for a night out in Woodstock. Food in restaurant was excellent & fab breakfast in the morning. Staff friendly & helpful - overall very good. Only 1 suggestion- biscuits with tea & coffee please!!

Reviewer:Carole L | Mon 20th Mar 2017 | 1 year ago


Working nearby.- Rating 5/5

Great staff. Good food and smart very clean rooms.Highly recommended.

Reviewer:David O | Fri 17th Mar 2017 | 1 year ago


Great location - Rating 5/5

Booked here for an overnight stay. Great location for our trip to Blenheim Palace, staff friendly, efficient, breakfast plentiful. Would definitely return.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lesley D | Mon 13th Mar 2017 | 1 year ago


Fabulous! - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay with 5 star service from friendly staff. Booked direct by phone with the very helpful Charna. Will definitely return Thank you

Reviewer:Vivienne N | Sun 19th Feb 2017 | 1 year ago


overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Fabulous have already booked again,thank youGreat welcome when I arrived and a great goodbye.

Response

Good afternoon,Thank you for taking the time to leave this review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay, I will pass your comments onto the whole team.Regards,Charna

Reviewer:lisa c | Fri 17th Feb 2017 | 1 year ago


Sturdys castle - Rating 5/5

This was our second Visit to Sturdys Castle In 2 months very friendly and helpful staff..nice and spacious rooms and good food and situatied and quiet location and we will definitely be going back quite soon.

Response

Hi David,Thank you taking the time to comment on your stay, we are pleased you had a good stay and we hope to see you again soon.Regardsjon

Reviewer:David M | Sun 29th Jan 2017 | 1 year ago


Nice - Rating 5/5

Great value nice place nice staff nice food

Reviewer:Nigel H | Sun 22nd Jan 2017 | 1 year ago


Sturdy\'s review - Rating 5/5

I had a lovely Stay at Sturdy'sThe rooms are very nice, also they have sky tv in the rooms now, lovely bathroom immediate hot water. Staff were really nice and the restaurent food was extremely good. It was also close to my work too. I recommend this hotel to anyone.

Response

Dear Gary,Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am so pleased you had a good stay , we have just introduced Sky to the Hotel rooms and we are happy you enjoyed the new service. I have passed your comments onto the housekeeping team.

Reviewer:Gary H | Mon 16th Jan 2017 | 1 year ago


1 night stay - Rating 5/5

Clean room good food friendly helpful staff a first class place to stay

Reviewer:Aaron M | Tue 10th Jan 2017 | 1 year ago


Great Place to Stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely room , quiet clean and has everything needed for a business trip stop over, Excellent breakfast and restaurant facilities. Staff efficient and helpful. Will definitely be staying again

Reviewer:Mrs. Sylvia W | Mon 9th Jan 2017 | 1 year ago


Fanatastic accomodation - Rating 5/5

The bedrooms were superb, very spacious and clean.Well appointed and comfortable.I arrived after dark but the whole hotel is very welcoming. Xmas decs were very good too! The staff showed me to my room to make sure everything was in order.Superb stay, would go again!

Reviewer:Simon D | Mon 12th Dec 2016 | 2 years ago


Sturdy castle- Rating 5/5

This was our first time visiting Oxford so we decided to stay at the sturd castle for 2 nights we thouherly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it to anyone else. It was a picturesque building the rooms where clean and the staff where very welcoming and very freindly and helpful and we will definitely be going again.

Reviewer:David M | Mon 12th Dec 2016 | 2 years ago


Excellent place to stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely and helpful staff. Warm and comfortable rooms.

Reviewer:Anne H | Thu 1st Dec 2016 | 2 years ago


One mighty fine breakfast - Rating 5/5

Four weeks there on the trot, and four different rooms. As I was to find out when I arrived, there is no Room 13 at Sturdy's Castle. Something todo with superstition. There is however a Room 31.Room 31 is unlike the others. It is similar to Room 18 in size but the layout is different. A darker green pervades, the layout gives a larger 'living room', the TV is certainly bigger but the appointment suggests this was decorated at a separate time to the other rooms I have stayed in. The headboard is inline with the external door and despite the snug fit I could still hear traffic from the main road nearby. Unlike other rooms there are no bedside switches to control the overhead or bedside lights. Finally, unlike other rooms there are no soap dispensers on the bath wall or by the side of the mirror by the sink.What I can say is that the staff are great, warm, welcoming and will go out of your way to make anything possible. That goes for breakfast too. Fresh orange juice, piping hot coffee, choices of cereal, jams, toast, an one mighty fine breakfast that will last all day.Go on take the dip. Sturdy's Castle is the best place if you want to get out of Bicester, Oxford or work nearby at London Oxford Airport. If you are stuck on the M40 I would also suggest it might be well worth a look. Be quick. It is popular with the locals who know a good hing when they see it.

Reviewer:John H | Fri 25th Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


A super place!- Rating 5/5

Comfortable and welcoming place to say. Clean and cosy rooms and a delicious breakfast. Defiantly will say again.

Response

Hi Maria,Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay, I will pass your comments onto my entire team.RegardsJon

Reviewer:Maria D | Tue 22nd Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


Fantastic - Rating 5/5

What a wonderful stay we had here. Room was delightful, very very cosy. Had just been refurbished. Bed lovely an comfy as well. Staff were extremely helpful and ever so polite. Will certainly use this hotel again. And would definantly highly recommend it to others

Response

Hi Luisa,Thanks for your comments, we are pleased you had a great stay, I will pass your comments onto the whole team here at Sturdy\\\'s CastleRegardsJon Ashby

Reviewer:Luisa B | Mon 14th Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed at Sturdy's as part of a large group for Dinner Bed and Breakfast. The Staff were friendly and helpful. The food was good and the timing / efficiency spot on for such a large group. The rooms were clean and had everything we needed. We couldn't improve on the stay it was great value. Highly recommend.

Reviewer:Mrs. Devon N | Sun 23rd Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Most enjoyable stay - thank you - Rating 5/5

We have just returned from a most enjoyable stay at Sturdy's Castle.Our room was large, welcoming, very clean and peaceful.The evening meal, chosen from the menu was first class.As I am Gluten Free II was delighted to see GF clearly marked and even special GF puddings offered.Breakfast was a delight with a large menu from Full English (which my husband enjoyed enormously) to lite bites.The staff were attentive, polite, and very professional al all times.We will be returning, and would thoroughly recommend Study's Castle as the ideal venue for anyone wishing to visit or explore this very beautiful area.

Reviewer:Mrs. Dorothy F | Thu 20th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Overnight stay - Rating 4/5

Very comfortable rooms good food and friendly helpful staff.

Reviewer:Michael R | Thu 13th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Excellent Stay - Rating 5/5

We have just returned from an excellent stay at Sturdy's Castle Country Inn.The double room was spacious, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom facilities were good.The staff were exceptionally polite and helpful.The restaurant was excellent with a good choice of dishes cooked to perfection.The breakfast menu was also very good.Billing was easy to understand and was accurate.Spent two nights enjoying Woodstock, Blenheim Palace and Oxford and will certainly return and will have no hesitation in recommending to friends.

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen h | Sat 24th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


We\'ll be back ! - Rating 5/5

An extremely friendly and most welcoming arrival. Room was very clean and comfortable. Maybe a little frayed around the edges of the bath. Worth touching up. Meals were exceptional and cooked to perfection, well done Chef ! Service throughout was second to none and a personal thank you to Charna who provided 100% of dedication and professionalism. We look forward to a return visit soon.

Reviewer:Barry C | Sun 18th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Thank you - Rating 4/5

Following a 7hr journey to Oxford the night before my daughter and I over slept and missed breakfast. However a lovely girl ( dark hair, forgot to ask her name) made us toast and crumpets before we continued our journey. We were very grateful of her offer. Thank you

Reviewer:Mrs Katy M | Sun 18th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Great stay A* - Rating 5/5

Lovely place to stay. The food was great, the rooms were spacious and very clean. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was perfect :)

Reviewer:PAIGEP | Fri 19th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


a very nice weekend - Rating 5/5

comfortable room nice and quite food very good would stay again

Reviewer:David Reading - A | Wed 17th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Short but nice stay - Rating 4/5

We spent one night only at Sturdy's Castle, as we were going to a wedding at Blenheim Palace. The staff is welcoming and the place is pretty. We would definitely go back if in the area!

Reviewer:Ms. Karole C | Tue 16th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Great :)- Rating 4/5

Lovely place to stay for the night, had everything I needed for a comfortable stay.Good value for money.

Reviewer:Liam H | Thu 11th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Excellent! - Rating 5/5

Couldn't fault a thing!Great location to go to Countryfile Live with a hearty breakfast to sustain us through the day.Wouldn't hesitate in booking here again 😍

Reviewer:JayneW | Sun 7th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Great stopover- Rating 5/5

We stayed overnight as going to Countryfile Live the next day Room & food really good Thankyou

Reviewer:Fiona P | Fri 5th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Week end visit- Rating 5/5

Excerlant, clean and very well represented by the careing staff hotel was spaceus and very comftable, food was exceptional and value for money I will be back to stay with my family next time , thanks to the staff

Reviewer:Darren Tilsley- paid for b | Sun 24th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely Stay - Rating 5/5

stayed here for 1 night to visit Blenheim Palace which is very close, good room quiet at night good meal night before and very good breakfast, would stay again. Staff very friendly

Reviewer:David M | Tue 19th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Overnight for proms - Rating 5/5

Saturday lunch, overnight stay and breakfast. Couldn't fault it at all. Rooms spotless and comfortable. Food very good and a lovely friendly staff. Hope to go back some time.

Reviewer:H | Sun 17th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


my opinion - Rating 5/5

pleasant surroundings, rooms are of a good, comfortable standard and the staff very helpful.

Reviewer:STEFAN T | Mon 11th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Good - Rating 5/5

Nothing to much trouble

Reviewer:Bowler P | Tue 28th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely peace to stay. Well situated if visiting Blenheim Palace. Amazing variety of food on the menu, something for everyone. Very impressed by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.Room was spotless, very comfortable bed,our room was at the back of the courtyard and was very quiet. Will stay again. Thank you for a most enjoyable stay.

Reviewer:Elizabeth M | Sun 26th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely Litle Bolt Hole - Rating 5/5

Really nice pleasant stay this weekend, thank you for your hospitality, great customer service and smiling faces. Really ideal location for Blenheim Palace visit and will almost certainly use your hotel again when we revisit the area.Many ThanksPete & June

Reviewer:Peter S | Mon 6th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely weekend- Rating 4/5

Really nice place spacious clean room good food and friendly staff.

Reviewer:Linda M | Wed 25th May 2016 | 2 years ago


nice clean room. - Rating 5/5

Had the best nights sleep ever,nice room , friendly staff, good food, would stay again.

Reviewer:Barbara G | Tue 17th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Short break - Rating 4/5

Just returned from a 3 night stay at Sturdys Castle Inn. Lovely room. Great food for both breakfast and dinner. Would highly recommend.

Reviewer:Lorraine Cardwell - L | Fri 6th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Very impressed! - Rating 5/5

Sturdys Castle was a great choice. I stayed for three nights on business. The room was clean and adequate. The bed was comfortable, the room temperature was perfect and easily controlled.TV channels worked with good reception and the wifi was fine for surfing but would not be great for streaming.The staff at the hotel were very nice, very helpful and always friendly.The food was great, no complaints at all, and very good service too.I would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

Response

Hi Laura,Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are all pleased you had a great stay ,and I will certainly pass your comments on to the entire team who looked after you.Jon Ashby

Reviewer:Laura H | Fri 29th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Very good again - Rating 5/5

Clean and comfortable, very friendly staff, good food, good value.

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew D | Wed 27th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Good location and friendly staff - Rating 4/5

In a great location for Blenheim Palace.Good wholesome food.Breakfast cooked to order.Friendly and accommodating staff.Nothing too much trouble for them.Would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others.

Reviewer:Mrs. Ann W | Tue 26th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Always an enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

An excellent place to stay, where staff are always extremely polite and very welcoming. The accommodation is kept beautifully clean and modern, with attention to fine detail. There is a superb food menu for breakfast and dinner - with delicious food. I always enjoy my stay.

Reviewer:Dr Stefanie L | Sat 23rd Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Best stay ever 😀😀👍👍 - Rating 5/5

Stayed here for four nights staff were very friendly accommodation was great and the food excellent would recommend Sturdys castle country inn as the place to stay in Oxfordshire.

Response

Hi Sally,Thank you for your positive comments. We are so pleased you have enjoyed your stay, and I will pass your comments on to the whole team.Warmest regards,Stacey

Reviewer:Sally Anne C | Sun 3rd Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Perfect for visiting Oxford. - Rating 5/5

We have thoroughly enjoyed staying at Sturdys Castle. The staff are very friendly and efficient. Our room was lovely and quiet. I like the fact that the rooms are separate from the bar/ restaurant. The restaurant was wonderful and cosy. Food is delicious and very reasonably priced. Our breakfast was lovely and lots of choice. We will definitely return as there is so much more of Oxfordshire to explore. We have recommended this hotel to our friends and family. Thank you.

Reviewer:Mrs. Alison A | Sat 2nd Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


very friendly place - Rating 5/5

Room good, Food excellent.

Reviewer:Mrs Christine Boxall ( | Mon 28th Mar 2016 | 2 years ago


Perfect stay - Rating 5/5

We found a little gem here,lovely food,reasonable price,warm and welcoming staff,lovely clean accommodation,good nights sleep,and fantastic breakfast.many thanks,your a winner.

Response

Dear Ian,Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us, We are so pleased your stay was a Happy Event, I will pass your comments on to the entire team & the Housekeeping Team. Jon Ashby

Reviewer:Ian L | Sun 20th Mar 2016 | 2 years ago


My stay - Rating 5/5

A very enjoyable 2 daysHighlights were:-1. The staff -very helpful, always smiling and attentive2. Bedroom very well equipped, comfortable bed clean3 Wood burning stove in the Bar/Lounge on a very cold evening4 Good food and plenty of itI will stay again if in the area

Reviewer:Mr. John G | Fri 22nd Jan 2016 | 2 years ago


Good place to stay - Rating 5/5

Reception efficient at each stage.Room warm while it was cold outside.Plenty of space in the room.All required facilities were provided in roomBreakfast big and very good.

Reviewer:Glynn N | Mon 18th Jan 2016 | 2 years ago


Friends visiting blenheim - Rating 5/5

Fabulous place to stayStaff most helpfulFood great and good valueRoom clean and tidy

Reviewer:Carol C | Sat 16th Jan 2016 | 2 years ago


Our stay at Sturdy\'s Castle Inn - Rating 5/5

Great welcome the room was comfortable and was well equipped evening meal & breakfast was out of this world would gladly stay here again & would recommend to anyone. ☺

Reviewer:Mr. STEVEN T | Mon 11th Jan 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely Hotel - Rating 4/5

Stayed two nights with family including elderly mother. I booked wrong room (assumed would be a lift ) but was switched second day no fuss at all. Very pleased with service and team very friendly and helpful. Lovely country location. Would recommend.

Reviewer:Mrs. Anne H | Sun 20th Dec 2015 | 2 years ago


Sturdy\'s Castle - Rating 4/5

Clean, tidy and comfortable bed. Nice breakfast. Friendly staff. Stayed for one night.

Reviewer:Bruce S | Mon 7th Dec 2015 | 3 years ago


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Great from start to finish. Rooms, food, service and staff all excellent. We will be booking again.

Reviewer:Howard M | Mon 23rd Nov 2015 | 3 years ago


Hotel standard - Rating 5/5

I have stayed at various inns hotels etcI must say this has been one of the best experiences I have hadThe staff were a credit to your establishment your were so helpful Even to the fact I am diabetic,and had to leave early missing breakfast on two daysAs I had to go to Blenheim palace as an exhibitorEarlyThey were quite happy to bring me a continental breakfastSo I had something to eat early morningYour staff are a credit to your establishment you should be proud if I do the show next yearI will have no hesitation in staying with your selfThe rooms were so clean and tidyAnd the bed snugly something you need when you stay awayThank you for a great few daysForgot to say the food was great as wellI recommended your business to loads of other exhibitors while at the showRegardsCorinne Hills5out of 5

Reviewer:Malcolm Hills| Mon 23rd Nov 2015 | 3 years ago


Repeat Customer - Rating 4/5

Ideal stop over location while working in the area, M40 / Oxford / BicesterRoom are comfortable and very clean.Room rates reasonable.Service very good. Well done

Reviewer:Ian Y | Wed 18th Nov 2015 | 3 years ago


OUR STAY - Rating 5/5

Our stay was very nice. The meals were top draw, and so was the friendly staff. Well done to you all.If one is visiting Blenheim this is an ideal location to stay.

Reviewer:Mr. John T | Sat 14th Nov 2015 | 3 years ago


Sturdy\'s Castle - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights and greeted with a very warm welcome with a member of staff who showed you to your room. Lovely personal touch.The buildings were excellent with a lovely feel to them.The rooms were very clean and large. The facilities were excellent.The breakfast was excellent with hot cooked food. The Restuarant was also excellent with a good choice of food.The staff could not do enough for you.Would definitely stay there again.

Reviewer:MARK L | Thu 5th Nov 2015 | 3 years ago


Two nights at the Sturdy\'s Castle Country Inn - Rating 4/5

Me and my wife both enjoyed our stay at the Sturdy's Castle. Room was clean and tidy, nice size. Small bar but nice and homely. There was outside seating and good play area for youngsters. The restaurant was great. You will need to book a table. The food is off a very good standard. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

Reviewer:Mr. MalcolmSmith| Sat 31st Oct 2015 | 3 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Clean quiet friendly excellent food

Reviewer:David K | Thu 29th Oct 2015 | 3 years ago


Wedding anniversary to remember - Rating 5/5

Last minute booking to spend the weekend in the Cotswolds with Blenheim Palace close by and Oxford on the doostep, Sturdys Castle provided the ideal base to explore the area and relaxing evenings with great food and friendly staff - we really couldn't fault it

Reviewer:Bernard G | Tue 27th Oct 2015 | 3 years ago


our stsy - Rating 5/5

Great weekend food good,, bed comfortable.staff friendly

Reviewer:Sandra V | Tue 27th Oct 2015 | 3 years ago


Staff and food - Rating 5/5

The staff were great friendly and chatty. The food was very nice the pies were outstanding.

Reviewer:Terence K | Tue 27th Oct 2015 | 3 years ago


EXCELLENT - Rating 5/5

Our 1st visit, 3 night stay. Room very clean and spacious. Several breakfast options including full english which was great. Food in the evening was also good value and good quality. Bar reasonably priced and staff all really helpful. Sturdys has a really nice atmosphere and we will visit again soon

Reviewer:Gary G | Tue 6th Oct 2015 | 3 years ago


Return Visit - Rating 5/5

This was the second time we have stayed at Sturdys Castle. We decided to return after our first stay was faultless.We stayed for 3 nights at the end of August, the rooms were well cleaned & tidied each day. Had breakfast & evening meal each day which was very enjoyable. Staff were very polite, friendly & helpful.Will be returning again in the future

Reviewer:Anna L | Thu 17th Sep 2015 | 3 years ago


you cant get better for thisprice in Oxfordshire - Rating 5/5

good foodreasonably priced ,unpretentiousand quickly served,room , general atmosphere & ,staff cant be faulted

Reviewer:L | Fri 11th Sep 2015 | 3 years ago


Comfortable and simple - Rating 4/5

We had two rooms between our party of three adults. Both rooms spotless, comfortable and very well finished. Shower in bath not the most easy access for the more mature, but worked well. Very helpful, friendly staff without exception.

Reviewer:Graham C | Mon 31st Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


A+ Well done - Rating 5/5

Great hotel, engaging staff, good sized room with nice touches throughout. Both evening meal and breakfast were very tasty. Well done

Reviewer:Ian Young ( | Fri 21st Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Contented Business Traveler - Rating 5/5

All the staff was helpful and polite and worked to ensure my stay was comfortable.The food was great, not only the breakfasts, but I ate my dinners there more than half the time I was there because everything was so good and the prices were great.

Reviewer:Kimberly A | Wed 19th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


pleasant stay - Rating 4/5

stayed at sturdy castle room was clean and comfortable.the food was excellant.The staff were very pleasant. would stay again.

Reviewer:Lorraine F | Tue 18th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Nice one night break - Rating 5/5

Stayed at the hotel for one night 15th August arrived Saturdayafternoon shown to room which was quite big and roomy booked dinner glad we did as restruant was fully booked, Service was good and food very nice . Bed was comfy had a good nights sleep .Breakfast the next morning was also very good .Would stay again if area

Reviewer:Daniel R | Mon 17th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Superb food and friendly staff - Rating 5/5

I have stayed here several times, there is a wide choice of good food in the evenings, a great breakfast and an excellent drinks selection. The rooms are clean and comfortable and all the staff are very friendy. My favourite place to stay in this area.

Reviewer:Mr. Glenn S | Sat 15th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Very Good Experience - Rating 5/5

Although we only stayed the one night, we both found the room to be furnished to a high standard, with those little extra items for making hot drinks, bathroom niceties etc.The staff were very accommodating and polite.The restaurant served good food and the breakfast met my expectations. Overall a very good experience and we would return in future.

Reviewer:Mr. Brian W | Mon 10th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Top notch - Rating 5/5

Very clean, comfortable, straightforward stay at Sturdy's and lovely cooked breakfast too. Would recommend this hotel - No problems at all. Also, easy to find and I would say a great base to explore the Oxfordshire Cotswolds and nearby Blenheim Palace.

Reviewer:Mr. Craig N | Sun 9th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Lovely overnighter - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed having a good size room with nice clean furnishings. Good pub grub dinner and excellent waiter service freshly cooked breakfast. Amazing choices for breakfast too! Would stay again.

Reviewer:Deborah I | Fri 7th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Overnight stay for nearby training course - Rating 5/5

En-suite room was very clean, spacious and well appointed. TV, two arms chairs and table. Tea & Coffee making plus bottled water supplied.Staff very friendly, breakfast was good quality, as was dinner.Room was nice a quiet and bed very comfortable.Would use again without doubt.

Reviewer:Mr. John F | Thu 6th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


En route stop over - Rating 4/5

Lovely hotel, in particular liked the courtyard setting.Ate in restaurant which was busy, but had good food and service with friendly staff.Would certainly recommend.

Reviewer:Janet A | Tue 4th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


superb hotel - Rating 5/5

All staff very helpfull and polite good food.Rooms very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay

Reviewer:Victor G | Tue 30th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

Room very clean and spaciousFood was very goodFriendly staff very helpfulshort ride for park and ride into oxfordif in this area again would definitely book again

Reviewer:Michael L | Fri 26th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Good - Rating 4/5

Good breakfast, pub nice and staff very helpful. Free wifi was a big plus.

Reviewer:Mr. Adrian G | Thu 25th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Weekend break - Rating 5/5

Our stay was very enjoyable. Its location was just ideal for my trip. Shopping in Bicester. Walk in village Woodstock. Party in Deddington. Staff were most helpful, polite and happy. Meals good. Breakfast was so good I would have liked to stay another night to sample the whole menu. Service was 9 out 10. Tea came to early, so got cold by the time breakfast came with toast. Being Welsh, we have breakfast served same time as Tea. Beds were very comfortable. Good night sleep. No noise only the birds first thing in the morning. Need another trip soon.

Reviewer:Elizabeth K | Mon 22nd Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Study\'s Castle - Rating 5/5

The staff are really welcoming and friendly . It is s comfortable place to stay

Reviewer:Anne H | Thu 18th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent hotel. Food was very good. Accommodation was clean and spacious. Prices were very fair. Ideally located for Blenheim Palace and Bicester Village. Would definitely stay again when in the area.

Reviewer:Terry J | Wed 17th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


close to Blenheim- Rating 5/5

lovely rooms and great food - we had breakfast and an evening meal.

Reviewer:Kirsty A | Tue 16th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Lovely... - Rating 5/5

Thank you to all the staff at Sturdy's Castle, they were all delightful & couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable. The setting is ideal for a relaxing break out in the countryside, yet close enough to all the main sites of interest. We had a great trip into Oxford & Blenheim Palace. We would definitely recommend Sturdy's Castle, the food is yummy and a nice selection of quality wines to choose from too! Happy Stay Julie & Mark from Manchester

Response

Mark,Thank you for your Comments, we are so pleased you had a great stay with us, it was our pleasure to look after you.I have passed your kind words onto the team here at Sturdys.

Reviewer:Mr Mark L | Mon 15th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Sisters - Rating 5/5

I booked a twin room for one night before competing in the Blenheim Triathlon the next day, but look forward to returning when I have time to explore the area.Sturdys Castle was very clean, comfortable, quiet, and the staff could not have been more helpful.My sister is gluten free and they had a specific menu to offer.However, all the food was excellent.Nothing was too much trouble.Thank you.

Reviewer:Jill R | Sun 14th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


worth a visit - Rating 4/5

lovely location and roomBed lush, nice and quietFood great

Reviewer:B | Mon 1st Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


First Class Hotel - Rating 5/5

An excellent Hotel, helpful staff and management,first class accommodation and excellent food.Will definately stay again

Reviewer:Richard I | Mon 1st Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Good value hotel in Cotswolds - Rating 3/5

Newly refurbished, clean rooms in motel like building behind the restaurant.Excellent quality breakfast and nice home cooked evening meals.Not luxurious but very comfortable and best value in surrounding area. Would stay again.

Reviewer:Kate Whitfield B | Mon 1st Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


time away - Rating 5/5

Would thoroughly recommend this place to stay. Not only is it convenient for places to visit (Oxford, Blenheim Palace and Waddesdon Manor to name a few), but the service, food and facilities make it very good value for money. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and the food in the restaurant provides a good variety at reasonable prices. A place we would definitely stay at again given the opportunity.

Reviewer:Pauline H | Sat 30th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Excellent base for visiting Blenheim Palace - Rating 5/5

A few minutes drive from the charming village of Woodstock Sturdy's Castle Country Inn offers peace and quiet, comfortable beds and a truly superb breakfast to set one up for the day. We chose a room on the first floor with views over an open field where we could see rabbits and buzzards. There is instant hot water from the taps thus avoiding the waste of water until the hot comes on stream. I have travelled the world and not encountered this before. The staff were very friendly and we intend to stay at Sturdy's when next in the area. I have no hesitation in recommending this establishment but ask for the rooms with a view.

Reviewer:Mr N | Fri 29th May 2015 | 3 years ago


excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Very friendly staff and food was very good , we had breakfast,lunch and dinner during our stay.Was pleasantly surprised by how pretty the hanging baskets and tubs were and the attention to detail in restaurant and bar decor . Would highly recommend a stay here .

Reviewer:Mrs Julia T | Thu 28th May 2015 | 3 years ago


wedding Night - Rating 5/5

Polite staff,excellent room clean & tidy.evening meal & breakfast spot on ! worth every penny.

Reviewer:Neil G | Wed 27th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely place to stay, bedrooms are comfortable and roomy and breakfast was great.Food in the evening and selection of drinks was also good

Reviewer:Lee B | Tue 26th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Good Value for Money at Sturdy\'s - Rating 5/5

We stayed one evening (9 May) at Sturdy's Castle. Accommodations we pleasant - clean and comfortable. (We would have liked a firmer mattress.)We had an evening meal and one breakfast at Sturdy's. The menu was quite varied, the portions plentiful, the prices modest, and the taste delicious. And the service for both the accommodation and the restaurant was excellent.

Reviewer:Mr. Robert T | Mon 11th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Very Nice - Rating 5/5

Fairly new rooms. Very comfortable. Nice location. Very good food.Would stay again when next in the area.

Reviewer:Chris M | Sun 10th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Top place stop while working away at Bicester - Rating 5/5

Very nice country inn, warm welcome on arrival. Staff attentive and helpful. Food very good, I can recommend the 32 oz steak. It was well cooked, tasty and I enjoyed it with a jug of peppercorn sauce. Breakfast very good and just right to start the day. Would definitely stay again if working in the area. Wifi wasn't quite as good as we thought it would be but hey it was ok.

Reviewer:Micheal M | Sun 3rd May 2015 | 3 years ago


Very enjoyable one night stop. - Rating 4/5

I stayed here in April and was very impressed with the accommodation. For my one night stop it was just right. Nicely presented room with ensuite. Access to bar and restaurant which provides good food at sensible prices. Would stay again if i was in the area.

Reviewer:Mr. Christopher R | Fri 1st May 2015 | 3 years ago


Great Find - Rating 5/5

Had a business meeting in Bicester early Friday morning so booked this hotel based on reviews and price we had booked for 3 nights.A warm welcome from Stacey at reception a slight issue with Booking.com they had reserved 2 rooms when we only needed one this happened because on attempting the first booking online it dropped me out so after no confirmation after 2 days I re-booked so I had to contact Booking.com to cancel the additional room.....very helpful and cancelled.The bar has a good selection of beers and ale but had no Doombar but not the end of the world went for the Black Sheep.For 3 nights we ate in the restaurant there was a wide selection with specials nights, also there are 2 for 1 choices which are great value and nice, especially the pies!!.We invited our customer with their partner to diner on the Saturday night and they enjoyed the food and drink!!Breakfasts there is a large choice full English was very good and there are plenty of other choices.Our bedroom was warm, bed very comfortably, bathroom with bath shower all very clean.If there is one criticism (from a business point) the Wi-Fi in our room 2 is a bit hit and miss signal strength fluctuates a lot and the EE phone signal (not hotels fault) is poor.All in all an enjoyable 3 days and the staff John (partner in the business) Stacey, Jo and the other staff very friendly and helpful.Considering all of the above...would we stay there again.. yes most definitely we are back in that area again the beginning of June so were be staying there again.One point that was made if your looking via a online company call the hotel direct as they will give you a better deal.. especially with the 3 for 2 nights!!

Reviewer:Steve N | Tue 28th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Comfortable, friendly, good value - Rating 5/5

The staff are always friendly when I stay, the rooms are comfortable & good value, evening meals are very good portions, and the breakfast menu has a good range of options to chose from. Easy to find & with good car park facilities.

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew D | Thu 23rd Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


weekend break - Rating 4/5

Good Food good service good Price would recommend and use again

Reviewer:Erica J | Tue 21st Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


A great find! - Rating 5/5

Cannot fault this place at all! Good sized room and nice and quiet in a lovely setting. As an added bonus the restaurant is superb and the people at Sturdy's are really friendly and helpful. Will be staying here again!

Reviewer:Matthew L | Mon 13th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Relaxing break - Rating 5/5

Booking in was very easy,thanks to the very helpful staff.The room was very clean and up to date,meals were excellent and HOT,and service was quick.All in all a (thanks to the staff) a very Relaxing break,Thank You.Would recommend to all.

Reviewer:Peter M | Mon 13th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Pleasant hotel - Rating 4/5

Good value for our stay near Oxford, both rooms were nice and roomy, though we would have preferred a shower screen to a curtain.breakfast was excellent, the service & the choices and the food.Great coffee.We had dinner here one evening and found the service and food to be good too, main courses were generous!

Reviewer:Margaret H | Sun 12th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Top notch food and accommodation - Rating 5/5

Spent 4 x nights here over Easter - to explore Oxford and the Cotswolds. Room was large, quiet, and had all mod cons. Restaurant serves excellent food in generous quantities incl. great breakfast abd 2 for 1 main meals. Staff friendly and happy. Large car park, bar, great location for Woodstock, Blenheim, Oxford Park & Ride and Cotswolds.

Response

Mr.Moore,It was our great pleasure to serve you over the Easter Weekend, I have Passed your Comments on to the Team . Once Again Thank You.

Reviewer:Craig M | Tue 7th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Sturdy castle- Rating 5/5

Good location pleasant professional staffClean and spacious room

Reviewer:David M | Wed 1st Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Relax your at Sturdy\'s Castle - Rating 5/5

You get a great reception on arrival, the food in the restaurant is to die for, plus free wi-fi and a well decorated and maintained room and such great value.

Response

Hi Gary,Thanks you Gary, I have passed your comments on to the entire team here at Sturdys . We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewer:Gary C | Sun 29th Mar 2015 | 3 years ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Disabled
  • Conference
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Romantic Breaks
  • Walking Holidays
  • Country Retreat