Reviews

What people are saying about Sturdy's Castle Country Inn




Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

We had a great stay at Sturdys, food was top notch all the way and the staff very friendly making it a thoroughly enjoyable experience. The room was clean and comfortable, just what we needed whilst working in the area

Response

Good afternoon, Thank you for leaving this review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, I will pass your comments on to the whole team. Kind regards, Charna

Reviewer: Grant Williams NR NB | Mon 26th Jun 2017


Excellent location for visiting Woodstock and Bicester - Rating 5/5

Stayed just one night when visiting Blenheim Palace Flower Show. Everything very good -room - location - breakfast. Very clean and comfortable spacious room.

Response

Good afternoon, Thank you for this review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards, Charna

Reviewer: Jane Mackenzie-Bennett | Mon 26th Jun 2017


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed our stay can not fault it the staff were brilliant the restaurant excellent our room really clean and very comfortable so in all a great five days stay

Response

Good evening, Thank you for this review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your comments on to the whole team. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Charna

Reviewer: Mr Crick - SUPERIOR | Sun 25th Jun 2017


Great stay at Sturdy\'s Castle. - Rating 5/5

This was my 3rd stay here and they\'ve secured my loyalty. I\'d happily recommend this really well-run establishment to anyone. Warm welcome, fantastic staff, excellent food (dinner and breakfast) and very clean and comfortable room. Guests are well looked after here, and there\'s a good atmosphere about the place. 10 out of 10 for me!

Response

Good afternoon Paul, Thank you for this review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us, I will pass your comments onto the whole team. we hope to welcome you back in the near future. kind regards, Charna

Reviewer: Paul Swinson | Thu 22nd Jun 2017


lovely - Rating 5/5

Very nice place, room was good, the bar area and service throughout was excellent. no complaints whatsoever. I Would use Sturdy\'s castle again no problem.

Reviewer: ANDREW WALKER | Thu 1st Jun 2017


Super staff! - Rating 5/5

What a gem! I was very, very impressed at the skill of the staff welcoming me and serving me for the two nights I stayed. Lovely (if occasionally creaky) accommodation, lovely situation, suffers a little from traffic noise but food and service tells me I\'ll be back! As a stay 9/10 without question!

Reviewer: Robert Rooksby | Tue 30th May 2017


A good hotel ,ideally located - Rating 4/5

This is an ideally situated hotel for visits into Oxford city centre ,driving to the Park and Ride, and for countryside walks along the canal path. The rooms were clean and a good size, there was a good choice at breakfast and the service was always friendly. We would be happy to stay there again.

Response

Good evening, Thank you for this review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Regards, Charna

Reviewer: Sue Hurlow | Mon 22nd May 2017


Visiting from USA -Michigan - Rating 5/5

A great place to stay while touring in the area. Clean, cozy, friendly. The food is excellent. The staff is welcoming and accommodating. We have stayed here before and see it getting better and better. We will definitely come back as well as recommend it to our friends. Thank you to all for taking such good care of us!

Response

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your comments on to the whole team. we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Regards, Charna

Reviewer: Mr Lloyd Crandall | Sun 21st May 2017


Family meet up. - Rating 5/5

All 8 of us had a very enjoyable stay here, all the staff were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the quality and quantity of the food was excellent. A lovely place to stay and would definitely stay here again.

Response

Good Evening Janet, Thank you for this review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your comments on to the whole team, Regards, Charna

Reviewer: Janet Wynne | Mon 15th May 2017


Family gathering - Rating 4/5

We had a wonderful stay. Rooms extremely comfortable and the staff being attentive and very helpful.

Response

Good morning Frederic, Thank you for this review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Regards, Charna

Reviewer: Frederic Michaut | Mon 15th May 2017


Very pleasant - Rating 5/5

We were pleasantly surprised Sturdy\'s was a very large bright and very clean room with a comfortable bed. The food was very good and reasonably priced. The staff were all very friendly and helpfully, even when busy.

Response

Good morning Chris, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found your room comfortable. I will pass your comments on to the whole team. Regards, Charna

Reviewer: Chris Bulley | Mon 8th May 2017


First time at Sturdy\'s Castle Country Inn. - Rating 5/5

I was very impressed with Sturdy\'s Castle! Excellent room and delicious breakfast in the morning! Staff very friendly and professional, too. I look forward to staying here again in future.

Response

Good morning Paul, Thank you for leaving this review, it is very pleasing to us that you enjoyed your stay, I will pass your comments on to the whole team, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards, Charna

Reviewer: Mr. Paul Swinson | Sun 7th May 2017


Excellent Service - Rating 5/5

We were in Oxford for business and stayed at Sturdy\'s Castle. The rooms are large and very comfortable. The food was of an excellent standard and priced very reasonably. The staff were polite and attentive. Will stay here again when in the area.

Response

Good afternoon, Thank you for leaving this review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to welcome you again if you are in the area. Regards, Charna

Reviewer: Mr. Nigel Walter | Fri 5th May 2017


April/May 17 - Rating 5/5

the room was perfect and food excellent all times of day. Staff were all very pleasant and helpful

Response

Good afternoon, Thank you for this review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, I will pass your comments on to the whole team. we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Regards, Charna

Reviewer: Martin Miles | Tue 2nd May 2017


Great place to stay. - Rating 5/5

Food staff are great. Perfect place to stay when sightseeing around oxfordshire. Highly recommend Sturdy Castle to all. I wil be telling all and sundry in australia.

Response

Good afternoon, Thank you for leaving this review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, I will pass your comments onto the whole team and hope to welcome you back if you are in the area. Regards, Charna

Reviewer: Ewan Morrison | Sun 30th Apr 2017


Weekend break - Rating 4/5

Just stopped for two nights our second stay her. Met friends who we only see a couple of times a years. We would have liked bar to have stopped open later then 10.40 pm on the saturday when we returned. Otherwise no complaints enjoyed meal on the friday.

Reviewer: Carol Dourneen | Sun 30th Apr 2017


A great stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay. Friendly & hospitable team especially Stacey, very helpful. Would definitely return

Reviewer: Ms. Tammy Molson | Fri 28th Apr 2017


Thank You - Rating 4/5

Nice location and rooms, good facilities, accommodating and friendly staff makes it a great place to stay.

Response

Good Evening Jonathan, Thank you for this review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future. Regards, Charna

Reviewer: Jonathan lee | Fri 21st Apr 2017


Fantastic place to stay........ - Rating 5/5

We have just stayed here for the second time. We cannot fault the service. The rooms are beautifully decorated, so well equipped and spotless. The food is excellent. Most of all the staff are all extremely helpful and friendly. This is a very efficiently run hotel and we will definately be visiting a third time and more........Many thanks.....

Reviewer: Cheryl Reynolds | Fri 21st Apr 2017


Business Stay @ Sturdy\'s Castle - Rating 4/5

I use Sturdy\'s Castle as my hotel of choice for overnight business accommodation in the north Oxfordshire area. Clean and tidy and well run, the owners are genuinely trying maintain a very credible service to guests and diners alike supported most ably by welcoming, happy to serve staff. I\'m a frequent stayer at Sturdy\'s Castle. :-)

Reviewer: Jonathan Mcloughlin | Thu 20th Apr 2017


My stay at Sturdy\'s Castle Country Inn - Rating 5/5

What a terrific place to stay. The rooms were very clean & comfortable, the food excellent but above all, it was the staff who were so friendly & professional.

Response

Good Morning Jeremy, Thank you for leaving this review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us. I will pass your comments onto the whole team, we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Regards, Charna

Reviewer: Mr. Jeremy Griffiths | Mon 17th Apr 2017


My stay at Sturdy\'s Castle Country Inn - Rating 5/5

What a terrific place to stay. The rooms were very clean & comfortable, the food excellent but above all, it was the staff who were so friendly & professional.

Reviewer: Mr. Jeremy Griffiths | Mon 17th Apr 2017


excellent stay. - Rating 5/5

Large, clean and comfortable room, plus good food. Staff were helpful and friendly.

Reviewer: Mr. Peter Barnes | Mon 17th Apr 2017


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed two nights daughter lives in Bicester. What you see is what you get fab room and facilities. Friendly welcoming staff would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a great place to stay, we will be back

Response

Good Morning Wendy, Thank you for leaving this review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay, I will pass your comments onto the whole team. We hope to welcome you back in the near future if you are in the area. Regards, Charna

Reviewer: wendy wharton | Sun 16th Apr 2017


A delightful surprise! - Rating 5/5

It took us a while to find our destination but when we finally arrived we were pleasantly surprised! We were directed to a most comfortable and well appointed room, in a quiet courtyard, away from traffic noise. Having slept well we enjoyed a very generous breakfast in a sunny dining room, served by efficient and friendly staff. We certainly recommend Sturdy\'s Castle as a convenient stop along the way or a place to stay if you want to spend time in Oxford as a tourist.

Reviewer: Gillie Cozens | Mon 10th Apr 2017


Brilliant stay - Rating 5/5

Staying over for wedding celebration near to, rooms very nice clean and comfortable, food breakfast great lots of choice and restaurant just the same lots of choice. Stafff very nice and polite and helpful what more do you need to make a great weekend even bettter. Thank you all at Sturdys Castle

Reviewer: Bernard Clarke | Mon 10th Apr 2017


Stay 27 March 17 - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the hotel for my wife\'s birthday and to meet up with family members for an evening meal. The staff where very attentive and service was excellent. The food in the restaurant was perfect and everyone enjoyed their meal. The room was lovely. A big thank you to everyone who made my wife\'s day very special and we both look forward to staying again in the future. We both would definitely recommend your hotel to anyone looking into staying with you. Many thanks once again Bill Laird.

Response

Good afternoon, Thank you for leaving this review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us. we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Regards, Charna

Reviewer: Laird | Wed 29th Mar 2017


Great overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed for a night whilst meeting up with friends & family. Room was spotless, comfortable & an ideal base for a night out in Woodstock. Food in restaurant was excellent & fab breakfast in the morning. Staff friendly & helpful - overall very good. Only 1 suggestion- biscuits with tea & coffee please!!

Reviewer: Carole Lewis | Mon 20th Mar 2017


excellent weekend - Rating 5/5

We had an enjoyable stay the food and accommodation was excellent and the gluten free options were brilliant.

Reviewer: Adele Jones | Mon 20th Mar 2017


Working nearby. - Rating 5/5

Great staff. Good food and smart very clean rooms. Highly recommended.

Reviewer: David Ogden | Fri 17th Mar 2017


Great location - Rating 5/5

Booked here for an overnight stay. Great location for our trip to Blenheim Palace, staff friendly, efficient, breakfast plentiful. Would definitely return.

Reviewer: Mrs. Lesley Doidge | Mon 13th Mar 2017


Fabulous! - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay with 5 star service from friendly staff. Booked direct by phone with the very helpful Charna. Will definitely return Thank you

Reviewer: Vivienne Nilson | Sun 19th Feb 2017


overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Fabulous have already booked again, thank you Great welcome when I arrived and a great goodbye.

Response

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay, I will pass your comments onto the whole team. Regards, Charna

Reviewer: lisa cooper | Fri 17th Feb 2017


Sturdys castle - Rating 5/5

This was our second Visit to Sturdys Castle In 2 months very friendly and helpful staff..nice and spacious rooms and good food and situatied and quiet location and we will definitely be going back quite soon.

Response

Hi David, Thank you taking the time to comment on your stay, we are pleased you had a good stay and we hope to see you again soon. Regards jon

Reviewer: David Mcnamara | Sun 29th Jan 2017


Nice - Rating 5/5

Great value nice place nice staff nice food

Reviewer: Nigel Hughes | Sun 22nd Jan 2017


Sturdy\'s review - Rating 5/5

I had a lovely Stay at Sturdy\'s The rooms are very nice, also they have sky tv in the rooms now, lovely bathroom immediate hot water. Staff were really nice and the restaurent food was extremely good. It was also close to my work too. I recommend this hotel to anyone.

Response

Dear Gary, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am so pleased you had a good stay , we have just introduced Sky to the Hotel rooms and we are happy you enjoyed the new service. I have passed your comments onto the housekeeping team.

Reviewer: Gary Holmes | Mon 16th Jan 2017


1 night stay - Rating 5/5

Clean room good food friendly helpful staff a first class place to stay

Reviewer: Aaron Mcclure | Tue 10th Jan 2017


Great Place to Stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely room , quiet clean and has everything needed for a business trip stop over, Excellent breakfast and restaurant facilities. Staff efficient and helpful. Will definitely be staying again

Reviewer: Mrs. Sylvia Wilkinson | Mon 9th Jan 2017


Fanatastic accomodation - Rating 5/5

The bedrooms were superb, very spacious and clean. Well appointed and comfortable. I arrived after dark but the whole hotel is very welcoming. Xmas decs were very good too! The staff showed me to my room to make sure everything was in order. Superb stay, would go again!

Reviewer: Simon Dewhurst | Mon 12th Dec 2016


Sturdy castle - Rating 5/5

This was our first time visiting Oxford so we decided to stay at the sturd castle for 2 nights we thouherly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it to anyone else. It was a picturesque building the rooms where clean and the staff where very welcoming and very freindly and helpful and we will definitely be going again.

Reviewer: David Mcnamara | Mon 12th Dec 2016


Excellent place to stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely and helpful staff. Warm and comfortable rooms.

Reviewer: Anne Hayward | Thu 1st Dec 2016


One mighty fine breakfast - Rating 5/5

Four weeks there on the trot, and four different rooms. As I was to find out when I arrived, there is no Room 13 at Sturdy\'s Castle. Something to do with superstition. There is however a Room 31. Room 31 is unlike the others. It is similar to Room 18 in size but the layout is different. A darker green pervades, the layout gives a larger \'living room\', the TV is certainly bigger but the appointment suggests this was decorated at a separate time to the other rooms I have stayed in. The headboard is inline with the external door and despite the snug fit I could still hear traffic from the main road nearby. Unlike other rooms there are no bedside switches to control the overhead or bedside lights. Finally, unlike other rooms there are no soap dispensers on the bath wall or by the side of the mirror by the sink. What I can say is that the staff are great, warm, welcoming and will go out of your way to make anything possible. That goes for breakfast too. Fresh orange juice, piping hot coffee, choices of cereal, jams, toast, an one mighty fine breakfast that will last all day. Go on take the dip. Sturdy\'s Castle is the best place if you want to get out of Bicester, Oxford or work nearby at London Oxford Airport. If you are stuck on the M40 I would also suggest it might be well worth a look. Be quick. It is popular with the locals who know a good hing when they see it.

Reviewer: John Hackett | Fri 25th Nov 2016


A super place! - Rating 5/5

Comfortable and welcoming place to say. Clean and cosy rooms and a delicious breakfast. Defiantly will say again.

Response

Hi Maria, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay, I will pass your comments onto my entire team. Regards Jon

Reviewer: Maria Dent | Tue 22nd Nov 2016


Fantastic - Rating 5/5

What a wonderful stay we had here. Room was delightful, very very cosy. Had just been refurbished. Bed lovely an comfy as well. Staff were extremely helpful and ever so polite. Will certainly use this hotel again. And would definantly highly recommend it to others

Response

Hi Luisa, Thanks for your comments, we are pleased you had a great stay, I will pass your comments onto the whole team here at Sturdy\\\'s Castle Regards Jon Ashby

Reviewer: Luisa Brown | Mon 14th Nov 2016


Great stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed at Sturdy\'s as part of a large group for Dinner Bed and Breakfast. The Staff were friendly and helpful. The food was good and the timing / efficiency spot on for such a large group. The rooms were clean and had everything we needed. We couldn\'t improve on the stay it was great value. Highly recommend.

Reviewer: Mrs. Devon North | Sun 23rd Oct 2016


Most enjoyable stay - thank you - Rating 5/5

We have just returned from a most enjoyable stay at Sturdy\'s Castle. Our room was large, welcoming, very clean and peaceful. The evening meal, chosen from the menu was first class. As I am Gluten Free I I was delighted to see GF clearly marked and even special GF puddings offered. Breakfast was a delight with a large menu from Full English (which my husband enjoyed enormously) to lite bites. The staff were attentive, polite, and very professional al all times. We will be returning, and would thoroughly recommend Study\'s Castle as the ideal venue for anyone wishing to visit or explore this very beautiful area.

Reviewer: Mrs. Dorothy Flynn | Thu 20th Oct 2016


Overnight stay - Rating 4/5

Very comfortable rooms good food and friendly helpful staff.

Reviewer: Michael Richardson | Thu 13th Oct 2016


Excellent Stay - Rating 5/5

We have just returned from an excellent stay at Sturdy\'s Castle Country Inn. The double room was spacious, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom facilities were good. The staff were exceptionally polite and helpful. The restaurant was excellent with a good choice of dishes cooked to perfection. The breakfast menu was also very good. Billing was easy to understand and was accurate. Spent two nights enjoying Woodstock, Blenheim Palace and Oxford and will certainly return and will have no hesitation in recommending to friends.

Reviewer: Mr. Stephen hood | Sat 24th Sep 2016


We\'ll be back ! - Rating 5/5

An extremely friendly and most welcoming arrival. Room was very clean and comfortable. Maybe a little frayed around the edges of the bath. Worth touching up. Meals were exceptional and cooked to perfection, well done Chef ! Service throughout was second to none and a personal thank you to Charna who provided 100% of dedication and professionalism. We look forward to a return visit soon.

Reviewer: Barry Caldicott | Sun 18th Sep 2016


Thank you - Rating 4/5

Following a 7hr journey to Oxford the night before my daughter and I over slept and missed breakfast. However a lovely girl ( dark hair, forgot to ask her name) made us toast and crumpets before we continued our journey. We were very grateful of her offer. Thank you

Reviewer: Mrs Katy Murray-LATEROOMS | Sun 18th Sep 2016


Great stay A* - Rating 5/5

Lovely place to stay. The food was great, the rooms were spacious and very clean. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was perfect :)

Reviewer: PAIGE PEARSON | Fri 19th Aug 2016


a very nice weekend - Rating 5/5

comfortable room nice and quite food very good would stay again

Reviewer: David Reading - Agoda | Wed 17th Aug 2016


Short but nice stay - Rating 4/5

We spent one night only at Sturdy\'s Castle, as we were going to a wedding at Blenheim Palace. The staff is welcoming and the place is pretty. We would definitely go back if in the area!

Reviewer: Ms. Karole Coghe | Tue 16th Aug 2016


Great :) - Rating 4/5

Lovely place to stay for the night, had everything I needed for a comfortable stay. Good value for money.

Reviewer: Liam Hughes | Thu 11th Aug 2016


Excellent! - Rating 5/5

Couldn\'t fault a thing! Great location to go to Countryfile Live with a hearty breakfast to sustain us through the day. Wouldn\'t hesitate in booking here again 😍

Reviewer: Jayne Wint | Sun 7th Aug 2016


Great stopover - Rating 5/5

We stayed overnight as going to Countryfile Live the next day Room & food really good Thankyou

Reviewer: Fiona Pringle | Fri 5th Aug 2016


Week end visit - Rating 5/5

Excerlant, clean and very well represented by the careing staff hotel was spaceus and very comftable, food was exceptional and value for money I will be back to stay with my family next time , thanks to the staff

Reviewer: Darren Tilsley- paid for breakfast | Sun 24th Jul 2016


Lovely Stay - Rating 5/5

stayed here for 1 night to visit Blenheim Palace which is very close, good room quiet at night good meal night before and very good breakfast, would stay again. Staff very friendly

Reviewer: David Morris | Tue 19th Jul 2016


Overnight for proms - Rating 5/5

Saturday lunch, overnight stay and breakfast. Couldn\'t fault it at all. Rooms spotless and comfortable. Food very good and a lovely friendly staff. Hope to go back some time.

Reviewer: Hodges | Sun 17th Jul 2016


my opinion - Rating 5/5

pleasant surroundings, rooms are of a good, comfortable standard and the staff very helpful.

Reviewer: STEFAN TRZECIAK | Mon 11th Jul 2016


Good - Rating 5/5

Nothing to much trouble

Reviewer: Bowler Paul | Tue 28th Jun 2016


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely peace to stay. Well situated if visiting Blenheim Palace. Amazing variety of food on the menu, something for everyone. Very impressed by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Room was spotless, very comfortable bed,our room was at the back of the courtyard and was very quiet. Will stay again. Thank you for a most enjoyable stay.

Reviewer: Elizabeth Marsden | Sun 26th Jun 2016


Lovely Litle Bolt Hole - Rating 5/5

Really nice pleasant stay this weekend, thank you for your hospitality, great customer service and smiling faces. Really ideal location for Blenheim Palace visit and will almost certainly use your hotel again when we revisit the area. Many Thanks Pete & June

Reviewer: Peter Smith | Mon 6th Jun 2016


Lovely weekend - Rating 4/5

Really nice place spacious clean room good food and friendly staff.

Reviewer: Linda Malkin | Wed 25th May 2016


nice clean room. - Rating 5/5

Had the best nights sleep ever,nice room , friendly staff, good food, would stay again.

Reviewer: Barbara Gulliver | Tue 17th May 2016


Short break - Rating 4/5

Just returned from a 3 night stay at Sturdys Castle Inn. Lovely room. Great food for both breakfast and dinner. Would highly recommend.

Reviewer: Lorraine Cardwell - Laterooms | Fri 6th May 2016


Very impressed! - Rating 5/5

Sturdys Castle was a great choice. I stayed for three nights on business. The room was clean and adequate. The bed was comfortable, the room temperature was perfect and easily controlled. TV channels worked with good reception and the wifi was fine for surfing but would not be great for streaming. The staff at the hotel were very nice, very helpful and always friendly. The food was great, no complaints at all, and very good service too. I would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

Response

Hi Laura, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are all pleased you had a great stay ,and I will certainly pass your comments on to the entire team who looked after you. Jon Ashby

Reviewer: Laura Hobbs | Fri 29th Apr 2016


Very good again - Rating 5/5

Clean and comfortable, very friendly staff, good food, good value.

Reviewer: Mr. Andrew Dalgleish | Wed 27th Apr 2016


Good location and friendly staff - Rating 4/5

In a great location for Blenheim Palace. Good wholesome food. Breakfast cooked to order. Friendly and accommodating staff. Nothing too much trouble for them. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others.

Reviewer: Mrs. Ann Wood | Tue 26th Apr 2016


Always an enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

An excellent place to stay, where staff are always extremely polite and very welcoming. The accommodation is kept beautifully clean and modern, with attention to fine detail. There is a superb food menu for breakfast and dinner - with delicious food. I always enjoy my stay.

Reviewer: Dr Stefanie Lipinski-barltrop | Sat 23rd Apr 2016


Best stay ever 😀😀👍👍 - Rating 5/5

Stayed here for four nights staff were very friendly accommodation was great and the food excellent would recommend Sturdys castle country inn as the place to stay in Oxfordshire.

Response

Hi Sally, Thank you for your positive comments. We are so pleased you have enjoyed your stay, and I will pass your comments on to the whole team. Warmest regards, Stacey

Reviewer: Sally Anne Clewes | Sun 3rd Apr 2016


Perfect for visiting Oxford. - Rating 5/5

We have thoroughly enjoyed staying at Sturdys Castle. The staff are very friendly and efficient. Our room was lovely and quiet. I like the fact that the rooms are separate from the bar/ restaurant. The restaurant was wonderful and cosy. Food is delicious and very reasonably priced. Our breakfast was lovely and lots of choice. We will definitely return as there is so much more of Oxfordshire to explore. We have recommended this hotel to our friends and family. Thank you.

Reviewer: Mrs. Alison Andrews | Sat 2nd Apr 2016


very friendly place - Rating 5/5

Room good, Food excellent.

Reviewer: Mrs Christine Boxall (laterooms) | Mon 28th Mar 2016


Perfect stay - Rating 5/5

We found a little gem here,lovely food,reasonable price,warm and welcoming staff,lovely clean accommodation,good nights sleep,and fantastic breakfast.many thanks,your a winner.

Response

Dear Ian, Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us, We are so pleased your stay was a Happy Event, I will pass your comments on to the entire team & the Housekeeping Team. Jon Ashby

Reviewer: Ian Luck | Sun 20th Mar 2016


My stay - Rating 5/5

A very enjoyable 2 days Highlights were:- 1. The staff -very helpful, always smiling and attentive 2. Bedroom very well equipped, comfortable bed clean 3 Wood burning stove in the Bar/Lounge on a very cold evening 4 Good food and plenty of it I will stay again if in the area

Reviewer: Mr. John Garratt | Fri 22nd Jan 2016


Good place to stay - Rating 5/5

Reception efficient at each stage. Room warm while it was cold outside. Plenty of space in the room. All required facilities were provided in room Breakfast big and very good.

Reviewer: Glynn Nash | Mon 18th Jan 2016


Friends visiting blenheim - Rating 5/5

Fabulous place to stay Staff most helpful Food great and good value Room clean and tidy

Reviewer: Carol Cox | Sat 16th Jan 2016


Our stay at Sturdy\'s Castle Inn - Rating 5/5

Great welcome the room was comfortable and was well equipped evening meal & breakfast was out of this world would gladly stay here again & would recommend to anyone. ☺

Reviewer: Mr. STEVEN THRASHER | Mon 11th Jan 2016


Lovely Hotel - Rating 4/5

Stayed two nights with family including elderly mother. I booked wrong room (assumed would be a lift ) but was switched second day no fuss at all. Very pleased with service and team very friendly and helpful. Lovely country location. Would recommend.

Reviewer: Mrs. Anne Hefford | Sun 20th Dec 2015


Sturdy\'s Castle - Rating 4/5

Clean, tidy and comfortable bed. Nice breakfast. Friendly staff. Stayed for one night.

Reviewer: Bruce Sturdy | Mon 7th Dec 2015


Hotel standard - Rating 5/5

I have stayed at various inns hotels etc I must say this has been one of the best experiences I have had The staff were a credit to your establishment your were so helpful Even to the fact I am diabetic,and had to leave early missing breakfast on two days As I had to go to Blenheim palace as an exhibitor Early They were quite happy to bring me a continental breakfast So I had something to eat early morning Your staff are a credit to your establishment you should be proud if I do the show next year I will have no hesitation in staying with your self The rooms were so clean and tidy And the bed snugly something you need when you stay away Thank you for a great few days Forgot to say the food was great as well I recommended your business to loads of other exhibitors while at the show Regards Corinne Hills 5out of 5

Reviewer: Malcolm Hills | Mon 23rd Nov 2015


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Great from start to finish. Rooms, food, service and staff all excellent. We will be booking again.

Reviewer: Howard Machin | Mon 23rd Nov 2015


Repeat Customer - Rating 4/5

Ideal stop over location while working in the area, M40 / Oxford / Bicester Room are comfortable and very clean. Room rates reasonable. Service very good. Well done

Reviewer: Ian Young | Wed 18th Nov 2015


OUR STAY - Rating 5/5

Our stay was very nice. The meals were top draw, and so was the friendly staff. Well done to you all. If one is visiting Blenheim this is an ideal location to stay.

Reviewer: Mr. John Townsend | Sat 14th Nov 2015


Sturdy\'s Castle - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights and greeted with a very warm welcome with a member of staff who showed you to your room. Lovely personal touch. The buildings were excellent with a lovely feel to them. The rooms were very clean and large. The facilities were excellent. The breakfast was excellent with hot cooked food. The Restuarant was also excellent with a good choice of food. The staff could not do enough for you. Would definitely stay there again.

Reviewer: MARK LAMBERT | Thu 5th Nov 2015


Two nights at the Sturdy\'s Castle Country Inn - Rating 4/5

Me and my wife both enjoyed our stay at the Sturdy\'s Castle. Room was clean and tidy, nice size. Small bar but nice and homely. There was outside seating and good play area for youngsters. The restaurant was great. You will need to book a table. The food is off a very good standard. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

Reviewer: Mr. Malcolm Smith | Sat 31st Oct 2015


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Clean quiet friendly excellent food

Reviewer: David Kaye | Thu 29th Oct 2015


Staff and food - Rating 5/5

The staff were great friendly and chatty. The food was very nice the pies were outstanding.

Reviewer: Terence Kerr | Tue 27th Oct 2015


Wedding anniversary to remember - Rating 5/5

Last minute booking to spend the weekend in the Cotswolds with Blenheim Palace close by and Oxford on the doostep, Sturdys Castle provided the ideal base to explore the area and relaxing evenings with great food and friendly staff - we really couldn\'t fault it

Reviewer: Bernard Griffin | Tue 27th Oct 2015


our stsy - Rating 5/5

Great weekend food good,, bed comfortable.staff friendly

Reviewer: Sandra Vernon | Tue 27th Oct 2015


EXCELLENT - Rating 5/5

Our 1st visit, 3 night stay. Room very clean and spacious. Several breakfast options including full english which was great. Food in the evening was also good value and good quality. Bar reasonably priced and staff all really helpful. Sturdys has a really nice atmosphere and we will visit again soon

Reviewer: Gary George | Tue 6th Oct 2015


Return Visit - Rating 5/5

This was the second time we have stayed at Sturdys Castle. We decided to return after our first stay was faultless. We stayed for 3 nights at the end of August, the rooms were well cleaned & tidied each day. Had breakfast & evening meal each day which was very enjoyable. Staff were very polite, friendly & helpful. Will be returning again in the future

Reviewer: Anna Lane | Thu 17th Sep 2015


you cant get better for this price in Oxfordshire - Rating 5/5

good food reasonably priced ,unpretentious and quickly served, room , general atmosphere &,staff cant be faulted

Reviewer: Lorna | Fri 11th Sep 2015


Comfortable and simple - Rating 4/5

We had two rooms between our party of three adults. Both rooms spotless, comfortable and very well finished. Shower in bath not the most easy access for the more mature, but worked well. Very helpful, friendly staff without exception.

Reviewer: Graham Calcott | Mon 31st Aug 2015


A+ Well done - Rating 5/5

Great hotel, engaging staff, good sized room with nice touches throughout. Both evening meal and breakfast were very tasty. Well done

Reviewer: Ian Young (1) | Fri 21st Aug 2015


Contented Business Traveler - Rating 5/5

All the staff was helpful and polite and worked to ensure my stay was comfortable. The food was great, not only the breakfasts, but I ate my dinners there more than half the time I was there because everything was so good and the prices were great.

Reviewer: Kimberly Applen | Wed 19th Aug 2015


pleasant stay - Rating 4/5

stayed at sturdy castle room was clean and comfortable.the food was excellant.The staff were very pleasant. would stay again .

Reviewer: Lorraine Foxell | Tue 18th Aug 2015


Nice one night break - Rating 5/5

Stayed at the hotel for one night 15th August arrived Saturday afternoon shown to room which was quite big and roomy booked dinner glad we did as restruant was fully booked, Service was good and food very nice . Bed was comfy had a good nights sleep .Breakfast the next morning was also very good .Would stay again if area

Reviewer: Daniel Robson | Mon 17th Aug 2015


Superb food and friendly staff - Rating 5/5

I have stayed here several times, there is a wide choice of good food in the evenings, a great breakfast and an excellent drinks selection. The rooms are clean and comfortable and all the staff are very friendy. My favourite place to stay in this area.

Reviewer: Mr. Glenn Saint | Sat 15th Aug 2015


Very Good Experience - Rating 5/5

Although we only stayed the one night, we both found the room to be furnished to a high standard, with those little extra items for making hot drinks, bathroom niceties etc. The staff were very accommodating and polite. The restaurant served good food and the breakfast met my expectations. Overall a very good experience and we would return in future.

Reviewer: Mr. Brian Wooding | Mon 10th Aug 2015


Top notch - Rating 5/5

Very clean, comfortable, straightforward stay at Sturdy\'s and lovely cooked breakfast too. Would recommend this hotel - No problems at all. Also, easy to find and I would say a great base to explore the Oxfordshire Cotswolds and nearby Blenheim Palace.

Reviewer: Mr. Craig Norman | Sun 9th Aug 2015


Lovely overnighter - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed having a good size room with nice clean furnishings. Good pub grub dinner and excellent waiter service freshly cooked breakfast. Amazing choices for breakfast too! Would stay again.

Reviewer: Deborah Izatt | Fri 7th Aug 2015


Overnight stay for nearby training course - Rating 5/5

En-suite room was very clean, spacious and well appointed. TV, two arms chairs and table. Tea & Coffee making plus bottled water supplied. Staff very friendly, breakfast was good quality, as was dinner. Room was nice a quiet and bed very comfortable. Would use again without doubt.

Reviewer: Mr. John Flower | Thu 6th Aug 2015


En route stop over - Rating 4/5

Lovely hotel, in particular liked the courtyard setting. Ate in restaurant which was busy, but had good food and service with friendly staff. Would certainly recommend.

Reviewer: Janet Allen | Tue 4th Aug 2015


superb hotel - Rating 5/5

All staff very helpfull and polite good food. Rooms very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay

Reviewer: Victor Giles | Tue 30th Jun 2015


enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

Room very clean and spacious Food was very good Friendly staff very helpful short ride for park and ride into oxford if in this area again would definitely book again

Reviewer: Michael Lutkevitch | Fri 26th Jun 2015


Good - Rating 4/5

Good breakfast, pub nice and staff very helpful. Free wifi was a big plus.

Reviewer: Mr. Adrian Garford | Thu 25th Jun 2015


Weekend break - Rating 5/5

Our stay was very enjoyable. Its location was just ideal for my trip. Shopping in Bicester. Walk in village Woodstock. Party in Deddington. Staff were most helpful, polite and happy. Meals good. Breakfast was so good I would have liked to stay another night to sample the whole menu. Service was 9 out 10. Tea came to early, so got cold by the time breakfast came with toast. Being Welsh, we have breakfast served same time as Tea. Beds were very comfortable. Good night sleep. No noise only the birds first thing in the morning. Need another trip soon.

Reviewer: Elizabeth Knicz | Mon 22nd Jun 2015


Study\'s Castle - Rating 5/5

The staff are really welcoming and friendly . It is s comfortable place to stay

Reviewer: Anne Hayward | Thu 18th Jun 2015


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent hotel. Food was very good. Accommodation was clean and spacious. Prices were very fair. Ideally located for Blenheim Palace and Bicester Village. Would definitely stay again when in the area.

Reviewer: Terry Jackson | Wed 17th Jun 2015


close to Blenheim - Rating 5/5

lovely rooms and great food - we had breakfast and an evening meal.

Reviewer: Kirsty Allen | Tue 16th Jun 2015


Lovely... - Rating 5/5

Thank you to all the staff at Sturdy\'s Castle, they were all delightful & couldn\'t do enough to make our stay enjoyable. The setting is ideal for a relaxing break out in the countryside, yet close enough to all the main sites of interest. We had a great trip into Oxford & Blenheim Palace. We would definitely recommend Sturdy\'s Castle, the food is yummy and a nice selection of quality wines to choose from too! Happy Stay Julie & Mark from Manchester

Response

Mark, Thank you for your Comments, we are so pleased you had a great stay with us, it was our pleasure to look after you. I have passed your kind words onto the team here at Sturdys.

Reviewer: Mr Mark Laithwaite | Mon 15th Jun 2015


Sisters - Rating 5/5

I booked a twin room for one night before competing in the Blenheim Triathlon the next day, but look forward to returning when I have time to explore the area. Sturdys Castle was very clean, comfortable, quiet, and the staff could not have been more helpful. My sister is gluten free and they had a specific menu to offer. However, all the food was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. Thank you.

Reviewer: Jill Rogers | Sun 14th Jun 2015


worth a visit - Rating 4/5

lovely location and room Bed lush, nice and quiet Food great

Reviewer: Booker | Mon 1st Jun 2015


First Class Hotel - Rating 5/5

An excellent Hotel, helpful staff and management,first class accommodation and excellent food.Will definately stay again

Reviewer: Richard Ivory | Mon 1st Jun 2015


Good value hotel in Cotswolds - Rating 3/5

Newly refurbished, clean rooms in motel like building behind the restaurant. Excellent quality breakfast and nice home cooked evening meals. Not luxurious but very comfortable and best value in surrounding area. Would stay again.

Reviewer: Kate Whitfield Breton | Mon 1st Jun 2015


time away - Rating 5/5

Would thoroughly recommend this place to stay. Not only is it convenient for places to visit (Oxford, Blenheim Palace and Waddesdon Manor to name a few), but the service, food and facilities make it very good value for money. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and the food in the restaurant provides a good variety at reasonable prices. A place we would definitely stay at again given the opportunity.

Reviewer: Pauline Hann | Sat 30th May 2015


Excellent base for visiting Blenheim Palace - Rating 5/5

A few minutes drive from the charming village of Woodstock Sturdy\'s Castle Country Inn offers peace and quiet, comfortable beds and a truly superb breakfast to set one up for the day. We chose a room on the first floor with views over an open field where we could see rabbits and buzzards. There is instant hot water from the taps thus avoiding the waste of water until the hot comes on stream. I have travelled the world and not encountered this before. The staff were very friendly and we intend to stay at Sturdy\'s when next in the area. I have no hesitation in recommending this establishment but ask for the rooms with a view.

Reviewer: Mr Nicholson | Fri 29th May 2015


excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Very friendly staff and food was very good , we had breakfast,lunch and dinner during our stay.Was pleasantly surprised by how pretty the hanging baskets and tubs were and the attention to detail in restaurant and bar decor . Would highly recommend a stay here .

Reviewer: Mrs Julia Turner | Thu 28th May 2015


wedding Night - Rating 5/5

Polite staff,excellent room clean & tidy.evening meal & breakfast spot on ! worth every penny.

Reviewer: Neil Gates | Wed 27th May 2015


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely place to stay, bedrooms are comfortable and roomy and breakfast was great. Food in the evening and selection of drinks was also good

Reviewer: Lee Bradley | Tue 26th May 2015


Good Value for Money at Sturdy\'s - Rating 5/5

We stayed one evening (9 May) at Sturdy\'s Castle. Accommodations we pleasant - clean and comfortable. (We would have liked a firmer mattress.) We had an evening meal and one breakfast at Sturdy\'s. The menu was quite varied, the portions plentiful, the prices modest, and the taste delicious. And the service for both the accommodation and the restaurant was excellent.

Reviewer: Mr. Robert Taylor | Mon 11th May 2015


Very Nice - Rating 5/5

Fairly new rooms. Very comfortable. Nice location. Very good food. Would stay again when next in the area.

Reviewer: Chris Mitton | Sun 10th May 2015


Top place stop while working away at Bicester - Rating 5/5

Very nice country inn, warm welcome on arrival. Staff attentive and helpful. Food very good, I can recommend the 32 oz steak. It was well cooked, tasty and I enjoyed it with a jug of peppercorn sauce. Breakfast very good and just right to start the day. Would definitely stay again if working in the area. Wifi wasn\'t quite as good as we thought it would be but hey it was ok.

Reviewer: Micheal Mills | Sun 3rd May 2015


Very enjoyable one night stop. - Rating 4/5

I stayed here in April and was very impressed with the accommodation. For my one night stop it was just right. Nicely presented room with ensuite. Access to bar and restaurant which provides good food at sensible prices. Would stay again if i was in the area.

Reviewer: Mr. Christopher Rickett | Fri 1st May 2015


Great Find - Rating 5/5

Had a business meeting in Bicester early Friday morning so booked this hotel based on reviews and price we had booked for 3 nights. A warm welcome from Stacey at reception a slight issue with Booking.com they had reserved 2 rooms when we only needed one this happened because on attempting the first booking online it dropped me out so after no confirmation after 2 days I re-booked so I had to contact Booking.com to cancel the additional room.....very helpful and cancelled. The bar has a good selection of beers and ale but had no Doombar but not the end of the world went for the Black Sheep. For 3 nights we ate in the restaurant there was a wide selection with specials nights, also there are 2 for 1 choices which are great value and nice, especially the pies!!. We invited our customer with their partner to diner on the Saturday night and they enjoyed the food and drink!! Breakfasts there is a large choice full English was very good and there are plenty of other choices. Our bedroom was warm, bed very comfortably, bathroom with bath shower all very clean. If there is one criticism (from a business point) the Wi-Fi in our room 2 is a bit hit and miss signal strength fluctuates a lot and the EE phone signal (not hotels fault) is poor. All in all an enjoyable 3 days and the staff John (partner in the business) Stacey, Jo and the other staff very friendly and helpful. Considering all of the above...would we stay there again.. yes most definitely we are back in that area again the beginning of June so were be staying there again. One point that was made if your looking via a online company call the hotel direct as they will give you a better deal.. especially with the 3 for 2 nights!!

Reviewer: Steve Nealgrove | Tue 28th Apr 2015


Comfortable, friendly, good value - Rating 5/5

The staff are always friendly when I stay, the rooms are comfortable & good value, evening meals are very good portions, and the breakfast menu has a good range of options to chose from. Easy to find & with good car park facilities.

Reviewer: Mr. Andrew Dalgleish | Thu 23rd Apr 2015


weekend break - Rating 4/5

Good Food good service good Price would recommend and use again

Reviewer: Erica Jefcoate | Tue 21st Apr 2015


A great find! - Rating 5/5

Cannot fault this place at all! Good sized room and nice and quiet in a lovely setting. As an added bonus the restaurant is superb and the people at Sturdy\'s are really friendly and helpful. Will be staying here again!

Reviewer: Matthew Leckie | Mon 13th Apr 2015


Relaxing break - Rating 5/5

Booking in was very easy,thanks to the very helpful staff.The room was very clean and up to date,meals were excellent and HOT,and service was quick.All in all a (thanks to the staff) a very Relaxing break,Thank You.Would recommend to all.

Reviewer: Peter Moore | Mon 13th Apr 2015


Pleasant hotel - Rating 4/5

Good value for our stay near Oxford, both rooms were nice and roomy, though we would have preferred a shower screen to a curtain. breakfast was excellent, the service & the choices and the food. Great coffee. We had dinner here one evening and found the service and food to be good too, main courses were generous!

Reviewer: Margaret Hamilton | Sun 12th Apr 2015


Top notch food and accommodation - Rating 5/5

Spent 4 x nights here over Easter - to explore Oxford and the Cotswolds. Room was large, quiet, and had all mod cons. Restaurant serves excellent food in generous quantities incl. great breakfast abd 2 for 1 main meals. Staff friendly and happy. Large car park, bar, great location for Woodstock, Blenheim, Oxford Park & Ride and Cotswolds.

Response

Mr.Moore, It was our great pleasure to serve you over the Easter Weekend, I have Passed your Comments on to the Team . Once Again Thank You.

Reviewer: Craig Moore | Tue 7th Apr 2015


Sturdy castle - Rating 5/5

Good location pleasant professional staff Clean and spacious room

Reviewer: David Middleton | Wed 1st Apr 2015


Relax your at Sturdy\'s Castle - Rating 5/5

You get a great reception on arrival, the food in the restaurant is to die for, plus free wi-fi and a well decorated and maintained room and such great value.

Response

Hi Gary, Thanks you Gary, I have passed your comments on to the entire team here at Sturdys . We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewer: Gary Corley | Sun 29th Mar 2015


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Pet Friendly
  • Disabled
  • Conference
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Romantic Breaks
  • Walking Holidays
  • Country Retreat